Posted by: T Y | October 21, 2007

The Outlander Movie: Stephen Bonnet

When Brianna fired that musket ball at Stephen Bonnet’s nether region, she thought she’d killed him or at least put him out of service. Little did she know that Stephen Bonnet, resourceful privateer that he is, tricked a country doctor into treating his “wound” and sailed away fully functional and with no hard feelings but er…minus one testicle. The testicle in question was preserved in a jar and this jar sits atop Bonnet’s cabin desk. With Jamie Fraser and Roger MacKenzie on his trail, this jar is the only thing Bonnet takes with him when he makes a run for his life.

I’m not surprised: this is such a Stephen Bonnet thing to do. Of all the treasures he’s amassed during his entire pirating career, why a floating testicle? What a badass!

In casting Stephen Bonnet, I thought long and hard about this relic of his manhood. Which actor could run around with his own testicle in a jar and still appear dignified enough to live up to the title “Gentleman Pirate”? Why, Colin Farrell of course…

Despite his lack of resemblance to the blonde, green-eyed Captain Bonnet, Colin Farrell has all the necessary prerequisites of an unapologetically wild Irish pirate. Farrell is already running around like a crazed mongoose. Heck, he’s the modern day Stephen Bonnet.

Colin Farrell seems dirty…so grimy that only a bath in rubbing alcohol and a rub down with hand sanitizer could clean him up. Is he too dirty to play Stephen Bonnet? Well, Stephen Bonnet isn’t exactly running for the priesthood. I remember all too well Diana Gabaldon’s description of Bonnet’s crusty bed sheets as he “had his way” with Brianna Randall.

Crusty bed sheets and raping notwithstanding, Stephen Bonnet would clean up nicely. He’s likable: there’s something about his superstitions, his Shakespearean soliloquies, his random acts of chivalry that suggests the presence of a gentleman under his rough exterior.

I’ve had reservations about casting Colin Farrell as Stephen Bonnet. A passing glance at Colin Farrell’s bad dye job as Alexander the Great made me realize that Farrell will never pass for a blonde. Indeed, if my casting decisions were strictly based on physical resemblance, I’d cast David Beckham or even retread to a young Sean Bean to play Stephen Bonnet. But Colin Farrell’s performance as Captain John Smith in The New World (2005) showed me a reserve of dignity which I never gave him credit for. When the time comes for Bonnet’s death scene, I’m confident that Colin Farrell can bring a surprising amount of dignity to this very contradictory man.


Responses

  1. COLIN FARRELL PERFORMANCE WAS BRILLIANT IN NEW WORLD , AND I LOVED THE MOVE IT WAS SOOOOOOOOOOOO MOVING . BY THE WAY I LOVED COLINS PERFORMANCE IN ALEXANDER , IT WAS OUTSTANDING AND NO ONE EVER COULD PLAY THE ROLE SO WELL AS HE DID , I WATCH THAT MOVIE TEN TIMES ALREADY AND I AM NOT DONE WITH IT YET . NOT ONLY COLIN IS A BRILLIANT ACTOR BUT A SEXY ,AND A HANDSOME , AS WELL AND I NEVER SEEN ANY ACTOR AS CHARMING AS HE IS, AND I AM CERTAIN THE MOST PEOPLE SHARE THE SAME VIEW. COLIN ROCKS.

  2. i loved colin on new world , alexander, phone booth, hart war, tigerland, miami vice , dare devil, recruit, s.w.a.t , he is awesome actor, and he is sooooo hot.

  3. Colin doesn’t look like Stephen Bonnet, but you’re right, he’s probably the only actor who resembles Bonnet in personality.

    Funny post! I’m a big fan of your unique insight into books. I have you bookmarked! Can’t wait for your next post!

  4. What about Daniel Craig – can look a little rough but suave and dashing as well.

  5. Jenny:
    I can definitely see Daniel Craig as S. Bonnet. I believe Diana Gabaldon described him as having a rough, chiseled, yet handsome face. Daniel Craig is perfect, thanks for suggesting, why haven’t I thought of it before!

  6. colin would make a good Bonnet but ithink who would be even better is Josh Holloway from the series ‘Lost’ because his whole look is what i pictured Bonnet to look like and the way he carrys himself and acts on ‘Lost’ is the way Bonnet is in the book

  7. I started reading this post and thought “Sawyer on Lost.” I looked up pics of him and Daniel Craig (too “Chef Ramsay” for me…) and then, lo and behold, the very next post said Josh Holloway. It’s a sign.

  8. soap is the least of his problems…. he looks like most of the bums here in portland , or. strung out on methamphetamine….. this guys is needin’ some intervention BIGTIME…..

    i wonder if the mexicans are supplying meth to spain? maybe spain needs a wall as bad as the good old USA?

  9. seni seviyorum colin farrell….hemde çokkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk deli gibiiiiiiiiiii…. lowe_to_see_you_cry@hotmail.com

  10. what it is for sure is that Fergus must be performed by Orlando Bloom

  11. I think colin farell would make a better roger. He’s got the black hair and to me roger came off as dangerous looking just not dangerous. What about when lizzy called him a black devil? Colin farell looks like a black devil to me.

  12. hola mi rey soy tu admiradora eres demaciado bello quisiera conocerte pero c que es imposible solo quiero decirte que te amooooooooo…..

  13. Never ever Colin Ferrel as Stephen Bonnet, please, Stephen has blond hair and green eyes, Colin is a realy big opposite to that, or not?

  14. I like Gavan O’Herlihy as Stephen Bonnet. If he was younger, I could see him as Jamie himself, but alas, he’s in his late forties by now. He was quite good looking when he was young, Irish, not Scots, but with red-blond hair and blue eyes. He was great as a villain.

  15. Okay, I looked for ages trying to find someone who sorta looked like stephen bonnet (in my mind any ways) when I was flipping through a magazine and saw a picture of Kellen Lutz. I thought maybe he could work (look wise) so I went online and found this photo ( url below)
    and I thought why not it kinda works

    http://allstarme.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/kellan-lutz.jpg

  16. Colin Farrell would be GREAT as Stephen Bonnet. Who cares that he doesn’t have the exact same coloring? Take Tom Cruise as Lestat. He in NO way looked the way described but he pulled it off with acting.

  17. I know this hasn’t been replied to in quite some time, but hey who cares. I read the series outright a while ago, but I’ve re-read DOA and FC over multiple times and at first I couldn’t picture any actor as Bonnet. Then I started watching the Mentalist with Simon Baker…and was just….christ it’s Stephen Bonnet.
    http://www.intermission.nu/wp-content/uploads/SimonBaker11-306×460.jpg


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

