R.I.P Challenge IV

I’ve signed up for Carl’s R.I.P Challenge. This is my first time!

Here’s my reading pool:

R.I.P Challenge Pool

1. My Cousin Rachel by Daphne de Mauier

2. Nothing but Ghosts by Beth Kephart

3. Exquisite Corpse by Poppy Z. Brite

4. Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

I’ve picked Peril the Second, which requires me to read 2 books of a spooky nature between September 1-October 31.  First challenge, baby steps. I might read all 4 from my pool and promote myself up to Peril the First. We’ll see.

I’m also doing the Short Story Peril.

My selection: Roald Dahl’s Book of Ghost Stories

8 thoughts on “R.I.P Challenge IV”

  1. Woohoo; welcome to challenge addict land! 😉 I must say, I didn’t enjoy My Cousin Rachel (and it’s the only du Maurier I’d say that about)…have you read Frenchman’s Creek? But I might be in the minority on Rachel-I’m not sure.

  2. Nothing But Ghosts is a fabulous read. I also just recently read Prophecy of the Sisters, which I found to be great and perfect for this challenge.

  3. I’ve wanted to read Exquisite Corpse for ages! Nothing But Ghosts isn’t spooky, but it does have a nice Southern Gothic mood that makes it perfect for the challenge. And after talking about Roald Dahl with you on Twitter the other day I remembered – is that one a book of his stories, or is it a book he edited? Even if it’s the latter it should be good – surely he had good taste!

  4. I had no idea Roald Dahl had written ghost stories. I want.

    And I hope you read EXQUISITE CORPSE. I’ve been meaning to read it for close on ten years now, but it’s starting to look like I’ll just be living vicariously.

Leave a comment