Posted by: T Y | July 23, 2010

OMG moment: Outlander the Musical!

If you read Diana Gabaldon’s blog (and if you’re a die hard Outlander fan then of course you do!), you’re probably familiar with news of a musical in the works. While I’m not entirely positive if this musical is just a soundtrack based on D.Gal’s bestselling Outlander series or a full scale stage production with a rollicking dance number and a standing stone circle set, I’ve listened to a sample on YouTube and I approve!

The sound is reminiscent of the Celtic Women. Don’t let the lack of visual stimuli keep you from listening to the end. Around 1:06, Jamie Fraser starts whispering “Blood of my blood. Bone of my bone” in a seductive Scottish brogue which is both hilarious and strangely alluring. This is the very definition of ‘whispering sweet nothings’ into one’s ear. When he coos “I give ye my BOOODY,” I broke into uncontrollable school girl giggles.

Mini confession: I have a secret Outlander playlist. It’s not fancy in the least, just a mash up of the Braveheart and Last of the Mohicans soundtracks with a dash of Ashokan Farewell thrown in during those staring-off into the distance moments. Not too dorky, right?  Okay. Suppose I tell you that I know precisely which song accompanies which scene. Like the grande finale of Braveheart (Track 17) must be played during the gut-wrenching parting between Jamie and Claire in Dragonfly in Amber. Instead of “FREEDOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” Jamie will holler “SASSENACH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” when he storms into battle and this is spliced with Claire scrambling through Craig na’ Dun and then FADE TO WHITE. I now see that I have screenplay writing in my blood and the echo of nerdiness in my bone!

I play “Promentory” from Last of the Mohicans—in MY HEAD—during Young Ian scenes. Young Ian does a lot of running around in buckskin breeches and if you’re ever in need of a specific musical score for when you’re keeping it real with the Mohawks, Promentory is the song.

I could go on. Or I could remind you of the time I made an Ultimate Outlander Collage OR I could show you…

Outlander fandom includes making secret playlists and fantasy movie casting. It’s not all that different from being a Trekkie. Lightbulb! Why oh why hasn’t someone started an Outlander convention and secret Vulcan/Scottish hand greeting?!!!

Responses

  1. I LOVE IT! I am literally grinning from ear to ear right now! I just read about this on Diana’s blog only about an hour ago and I’m equally excited about the prospect of an Outlander musical!! In my mind, Jamie has a much thicker Scottish accent than what is in the song, but it still made me feel warm and fuzzy inside :)

    And your collage…*sigh*…I love it! Excellent choice for Lord John Grey. I feel as though Ewan McGregor and James McAvoy (both sexy Scotsmen) should be in the movie somewhere as well.

    You truly must be my “sister from another mister!” Perhaps we should start the Outlander convention ourselves? I can’t think of anything else I would rather do with my time! This could very well be my calling in life…

  2. It’s not quite an Outlander convention…but Diana Gabaldon is going to be at NYC Comic Con in October. And I already have my ticket. I never thought I’d utter the words “Comic Con” and “me” in the same sentence, but there you go.

  3. I love the idea of a musical! I love your personal soundtrack. I love Outlander! If we could have an Outlander Convention I would sell everything I had to be there.

    I just finished Breath of Snow and Ashes for the 3rd time and I am getting ready to start Echo in the Bone for the first time. Why has it taken me so long, it’s because when a new book comes out I savor them. I take a year to slowly read each one, dragging it out with fluff books between in the hopes that when I finally do read Echo I won’t have AS long to wait for the new one!

    I heart Jamie Fraser and Young Ian!

  4. Oh dork out, girlfriend! I’ve got playlists for every book; it’s ridiculous! And Tracey is not being completely forthcoming. We’ve actually discussed the prospect of an OutlanderCon in the past. OK so we may have had some wine at the time… but still. PS – LOVE your casting.

  5. OMG, what he says at the end of the music made me laugh sooooo hard. I think I’d be kicked out of an Outlander Convention, but my mom’s a diehard fan!

  6. So, what, you finish the Horrible Dare Challenge, and then you just stop blogging again? LAME!

    Also, I have read Hush, Hush, and I actually liked it. Which, you know, is also kinda lame.

    http://bibliofreakblog.com/fiction/hush-hush-iby-becca-fitzpatricki/

  7. after finishing Outlander and stumbling around on various blogs/sites about the series, I listened to that exact song from the musical over the next two days! I am in LOVE with the scottish accent. Delish ;D

  8. I feel like a total literary slacker at 39 years of age posting this, but I am just reading Voyager. It has taken me a year to pick up another Diana Gabaldon book because all life must cease to read her work. The emotional ups and downs take a toll on my nerves. Yes, I know it is just a book, but Ms. Gabaldon creates such in depth characters that you could actually sit and hold a conversation with them. You know them in a way that no other author has ever been able to do. Words can not express the gratitude I have for such a piece of literature to exist. I thought fairy tales were just myth, but I have my very own Jamie (a french cajun/indian/scottish type) and dreams do come true, even for a Sassenach like me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

