Posted by: T Y | April 11, 2011

The Hunger Games Movie Casting (thoughts)

If you’re like me–a not-so-secret Hunger Games fangirl–you’ve probably prowled the four corners of the web waiting for any tidbits of casting news for the forthcoming movie. I’ve been known to indulge in book to movie fantasy casting in the past and I’ve even assembled my own Hunger Games cast last year, so when the actors for the Peeta/Katniss/Gale roles were announced, how could I let the opportunity slip by without offering my two cents?

This whole Hunger Games movie brings about so much nail-biting anxiety, especially in lieu of ‘The Great Twilight Debacle.” Because I love The Hunger Games so freaking much, I will be devastated, no, inconsolable, if the movies descends into a Michael Bay meets Twilight CGI noise-fest. In short, I’d like to impart a few words to Hollywood: Please don’t F**k this up!

KATNISS: Any actress cast in this role is sure to receive criticism. After all, these are large hunter boots to fill…Jennifer Lawrence has Oscar creds, I’m actually rather relieved she’s going to play my favorite YA heroine, though I speak from Oscar awe and not from having seen Winter’s Bone. My first choice (highly improbable due to age) was Summer Galu the Terminator girl: so perfect for the role but alas, we’re about five years too late. So Jennifer Lawrence, huh? I’m trying to imagine her sooty-faced and shooting arrows into people’s asses and you know what? I could totally see it! Give the girl a bottle of hair dye and some archery lessons and let’s see if she can incite a revolution. Plus, she’s got Suzanne Collins’ personal approval but the verdict is still out until I’ve seen Winter’s Bone.

Katniss by LitCon on Polyvore.com

PEETA: My first reaction upon hearing that Josh Hutcherson was going to play the baker boy was “Who the heck is Josh Hutcherson?” followed by “This dude has Batman’s (of the Animated series) jaw! So strong, so square!” Plus, the pictures of him sporting a fohawk was not helping his cause. An IMDB search revealed Josh H. as the somber, doe-eyed kid in 2007’s Bridge to Teribithia movie… Ah. What a relief! There was a lot of soulful ‘staring-off-into-the-distance as I contemplate my mortality’ scenes in Bridge to Teribithia, which Josh H. OWNED and he was all of twelve years old. I hoped he’s brushed up on his meaningful stares because Peeta waxes philosophic ALL THE TIME. Remember “Real vs. Not Real?” in Mockingjay? Or the “Let us stand on the rooftop and gaze upon the city while we decide how we should die with dignity” scene in Hunger Games? This square jawed, chin-dimpled boy has my seal of approval! As for the hair, I’m sure the stylist who bleached Tom Felton’s hair in the Harry Potter movies will welcome the commission…

Peeta by LitCon on Polyvore.com

GALE: Liam Hemsworth?!!!!  As in the Captain America look-a-like who romanced Miley Cyrus with BABY SEA TURTLES in The Last Song?!!! Oh God… OH MAN! Oh GOD! OH MAN! Let me take a moment to drop to my knees and howl: NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! As you can see, I was not pleased with the casting. Up until the end of Mockingjay, I was waving the Team Gale banner to victory. I knew it was a lost cause but guys, Gale… Hunter. Adonis. Henry Cavill in the movie of my mind! Perhaps I’m being unfair to Liam and yet, the taint of that sacchrine Nicholas Sparks movie coupled with being Miley Cyprus’ off screen arm candy is hard to shake.


Responses

  1. Hmm, I feel your pain regarding Gale…but luckily I haven’t seen the Nicholas Sparks movie so at least I won’t be envisioning him with sea turtles and Miley Cyrus.
    It was your energetic review of Hunger Games that inspired me to read it and needless to say, I loved it. I’m much obliged!

  2. I’ve not seen The Last Song either, so I’m okay with Liam as Gale. I can see the image. But I can easily say that, as I’m not a Team Gale like you are. (Team Peeta, oh yeah!)

    I also love the Katniss and Peeta casting. I’m very excited overall.

    T.Y. Please, please, pretty please can I use use am image of your collage as my FB default pic and post them in my YA for Adults group on goodreads? I think they’d love them.

  3. Wendy,
    Knowing that Liam is playing Gale has pushed me into the arms of Team Peeta.
    As for the collage, go ahead! I’m honored!

  4. I LOVE Peeta with all my heart and all my soul. No, really, I do. I’m madly in love with a fictional character. And I’m so, so disappointed with the casting of Josh Hutcherson as Peeta. I’ve only seen Josh Hutcherson in one movie (I don’t remember what it was), and I wasn’t impressed. Meh!

  5. I have to say that I was rooting for Hunter Parrish (Weed’s Silas, anyone? Anyone?) to play Peeta, mostly because I don’t usually do blondes but, I mean, come on. It’s Peeta. And I’m ALL on Team Peeta! But I’m glad to see I’m not the only one having issues with the recent announcement of the cast. Even my boyfriend, not usually a reader, was enamored with these books (it probably helped that I read them too him rather than leaving the task in his hands) and they’re probably the best books I’ve read since…well, since the last Harry Potter book came out in 2007. Thanks for the absolutely wonderful post!

  6. I dont like Josh Huctherson, and I am boycotting The Last Song…

  7. Hey! I wasn’t as up to date on my HG casting – I only knew that Jennifer Lawrence was rightly cast as Katniss – I have seen Winter’s Bone, and that was a freakin’ bleak movie, like dark and deep and depressing and shit, but man, was she FABULOUS. So I love her as this choice, because I know she can go gritty, and actually, I like her more than I like Katniss, so she’ll do credit to the role for me.

    As for Liam Hemsworth, well, I for one am not complaining that this fellow countryman and hottie will be competing for her affection! Honestly though, I’ve always been Team Peta, and upon googling Josh Hutcherson, who I didn’t recognise at first glane, I realised I saw him in The Kids Are Alright!! A movie I freaking LOVED, and also he’s a bit of a cutie…probably not too far off how I pictured him actually…the silent and strong-jawed type…mmm :)

    thanks for bringing this to my attention!

    x
    JAG


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

