Posted by: T Y | September 3, 2012

GUTGAA Meet and Greet

"Deana
So there’s a writing extravaganza going on (See badge) during the month of Sept where all query-ready writers are gearing up to get an agent. And since I’ve been having DREAMS about signing with an awesome agent and spent most of this year tweaking (Oh man, have I been tweaking!) my manuscript and query letter, I’ve joined…
Oh look… A meme!
A few extremely random things about me: My name is Teresa. On this blog, I go by T.Y. cuz that’s how I roll…
I’m a science geek by degree, bookworm at heart. My favorite book is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon because Jamie Fraser is the hottest man alive who doesn’t really exist. I’ve also had a lifelong crush on Nat Eaton from The Witch of Blackbird Pond, a book I’ve read 11 times.
Book crushes aside, I’m a huge musical aficionado…meaning you have to PRY The Phantom of the Opera 25th Anniversary DVD from my cold dead hands. Plus, I could literally hum Les Miserables all day every day and annoy you to no end.  If you understand the reference below, then you and I must be friends.

-Where do you write?

A very cramped desk in the corner of my living room.

-Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see?

A panda-shaped speaker. Also, a roll of toilet paper to blow my nose since I forgot to buy Kleenex. It is very ‘Joan Wilder-Romancing the Stone’ absent-minded of me.

 

-Favorite time to write?

10 am to 3 pm. Otherwise, I work around my day job schedule.

 

-Drink of choice while writing?

During winter: Stash Peach Black Tea.

During summer: Snapple Peach Tea.

 

-When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence?

Depending on the project, I listen to 1-2 songs on a continuous loop and said song becomes the theme of my novel. For BLACK HEART, RED RUBY, my query-ready YA gothic romance, the songs were Metallica’s ‘Enter Sandman’ and the 19th century Irish Ballad ‘The Last Rose of Summer,’ which is the creepy lullaby featured in the book.

For my current WIP, it’s a cross between ‘The Beauty Underneath‘ from Andrew Lloyd Webber’s ‘Love Never Dies’ soundtrack and ‘When You Taught Me How to Dance.

-What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it?

 My heroine, Ava Nolan, is a cross between Captain Ahab, Jeremy Renner’s character from The Hurt Locker, Scarlett O’Hara, and …Larry David. In other words, she’s obsessed with her goal, a master of her domain yet socially clueless, and unknowingly pisses off the supporting characters more than once. But fear not, she redeems herself in the end…

The plot was inspired by Aguirre, Wrath of God, a 70′s German flick about conquistadors searching for the lost city of El Dorado.  Aguirre, the antagonist, gets a little gold-obsessed, offs the commander and pushes the expedition deeper into the Amazon until the crew mutinies and he’s all “If I want the birds to drop dead from the trees…then the birds will drop dead from the trees. I AM THE WRATH OF GOD!” So evil. So demented. So intriguing…  As you can tell, I have a fondness for villains.

I also wanted to write a love-hate romance like Pride and Prejudice. So there’s lots of ‘I RUE the day I ever met you’ followed by ‘I was so wrong about him!’ Swoon!

There’s also quite a bit of…family drama. I am indebted to V.C. Andrews in this regard. No incest, though, sorry to disappoint. And the supernatural ruby quest? Pure Raiders of the Lost Ark, except, you know, with an Indy who tends to get into catfights.  

Anyway, here’s my elevator pitch:

17-year-old Ava Nolan’s life as an amateur relic hunter is filled with backstabbing—not to mention literal stabbing—when her quest for an occult ruby pits her against her graverobber uncle and her ambitious boyfriend. 

And here is what BLACK HEART, RED RUBY looks like in my mind:

-What’s your most valuable writing tip?

Since perfectionism is my worst enemy, I repeat this to myself all the time: ‘There’s no use in arranging deck chairs when the Titanic is sinking.’ Finish the novel first, line edit later, which, for me, is easier said than done.


Responses

  1. Hey TY! So nice to meet you at GUTGAA. I’ve always thought Enjolras was way hotter than Marius. I’m also firmly Team Javert. As for the Phantom…I still think my favorite character is the monkey…Kristina x

  2. Hi Kristina,
    I’m joining you in Camp Enjolras. Javert is a badass. The monkey is cool, but the Phantom will always be my creepy nerd boyfriend.

  3. Okay, a panda-shaped speaker? I HAVE to know where you got that!

  4. Dear Amanda,
    Ask and you shall receive! http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00475LJC2

  5. So…one of the best days of my life was seeing Phantom in NYC! I have been guilty of listening to the soundtrack on repeat. Also, The Witch of Blackbird Pond is such an amazing book, the story that taught me young females could be heroes in their own right. Good luck with your query. Your novel sounds amazing. Your personality really shines through this post!

  6. Hi Teresa! Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day. Contests are such a great way to meet other writers. And now that I’ve read this post and see your musical tendencies, I can see why you were interested in DUET WITH THE DEVIL’S VIOLIN. Good luck in the contest!

  7. I’m a science geek writer too! How cool :) I use toilet paper as Kleenex as well :)

  8. Dear Teresa,

    Nice to meet you! I enjoyed your answers to the GUTGAA questions. Glad there are other Broadway aficionados in the mix. I luerve me some Phantom. Happy Writing!

    Warm regards,

    Don #138

  9. I still have all of Les Mis memorized. I love that musical. Very nice to meet you!

  10. I love your pitch. How cool and what a lot of voice.

  11. Hi Theresa
    Thanks for visiting my blog, ( no 152 when i grow up i wanna write a kids book).
    Yes I am a cupcake addict, and I love musical theatre too, how funny, I am currently listening to Joseph and His Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat all day every day, and my little girl even rocks along to it.

    Thanks for mentioning you liked my story idea, ( Vesper Venti) I cant wait to have it finished, but until then I will query my MG Sci fi elf story.

    Hope you have a great GUTGAA

    Cheers Julie

  12. Outlander is by far, one of the best books I’ve ever read! Nice to meet you, and hope to see you around GUTGAA. :)

  13. Nice to meet you! I am a HUGE Phantom of the Opera fan. I wrote my first “novel” when I was in 8th grade and it was a retelling of the Phantom from Meg Giry’s POV. I was delighted when the movie version of Phantom came out and it seemed like Webber had been thinking some of the same things as me as there are bits that are like my version. Have you read Susan Kay’s book Phantom? If not, drop everything and get it now. And, by the way, even though he was a murderous madman, I always wish Christine had chosen him. I cry every single time she leaves him.
    And Les Mis, I was just listening to that in my car the other day. You’ve got great taste.
    Your WIP sounds fantastic. I did a research paper on the cult of relics in college. Fascinating stuff. Good luck with the writing!

  14. Agreed. Jamie is the hottest man who never existed. Also, love your visual – I have to do something like that!! Nice to meet you, and enjoy the GUTGAA festivities!

  15. I’m learning to let editing go until a later draft myself. At times it’s the most anxiety producing thing I have to do on a daily basis! It’s great to meet you!

  16. The quote about Titanic is great and very true. Thanks for sharing. Also, your story sounds fascinating. Nice to meet you.

  17. I have a hard time editing in a later draft. Maybe I’ll make that my 2013 goal. Or 2014. Great pics, and I would love to have that ruby necklace.

  18. I’m fairly certain you are my Phantom BFF. Susan Kay’s Phantom is heart wrenching, but awesome. I did see Love Never Dies. I see that Webber had similar feelings about the Phantom as me. Also, that story I wrote in 8th grade…the things he had Meg say at the end are totally the sort of things my Meg would have said had I been more dark and twisted as an 8th grader, but she definitely had a thing for the O.G. I thought that was awesome.

  19. Hi. Ah, yes, Jamie Fraser. *sigh*

  20. Mmmkay TY, so many things I love about this Meet and Greet. I mean please, Enter Sandman, Outlander, JAMIE FRASIER! Me and you could be serious buddies:) Not to mention I love the whole back stabbing and stabbing for real bit in your little pitch! Awesome to meet you! (Please ignore the fact that I put exclamations or smiley faces after everyone of my sentences)

  21. I love your pitch too. Great voice, and it really fills my mind with possibilities. Nice job! I also love your book collage – that is *super* cool. Nice to meet you!

  22. Great collage, I find they help when starting out on a new WIP. Your pitch is great too, it’s a good premise.

  23. Jamie! *sigh*

  24. Wow. I love your collage. Now I want to make one! It looks like fun. I think I’d want to make one on a canvas though, instead of online. I actually do some canvas’s that are inspired by different books I’ve loved, but–oddly enough–I never thought to do one for my own books. So, thanks for the great idea. :)

    Anyway, I like your blog! I got so inspired by all the great blogs on GUTGAA that I finally started one.I’d love it if you could stop by. I’m kind of in desperate need of followers. haha.

    Anyway, good luck with GUTGAA. Nice to meet you. :)

  25. Nice to meet you! I also struggle not to edit while I write the first draft. It’s so hard!!

    http://alexandracampbellwrites.blogspot.ca

  26. Hehehehe I adore your saying about the Titanic. Totally keeping it in mind from now on.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

