Literary Roundup

Southern California is sweltering and the hapless denizens are baking like ants under a giant magnifying glass. On this Sunday–the hottest day of the summer–I drove by the local library to stockpile on this week’s reads.

My earlier post–The Devil and James Dean–renewed a sudden desire to read more about the celluloid icon, so I picked up the DK James Dean by George Perry.

While scrolling through the nicely air-conditioned “New Arrivals” isle, I had to grab Marilyn Monroe: Cover to Cover by Clark Kidder–a comprehensive collection of all Monroe’s magazine cover appearances. Several months back, I read Joyce Carol Oates’ Blonde, so now I’m duty bound to check out the Monroe archives.

And then I remembered a book that Stephan King recommended in his how-to-write-like-me memoir. That book is Plainsong by Kent Haruf.

Since the weather is unforgiving today, I felt like pouring through literature that takes place in a cold climate. I settled for The Poetry of Robert Frost.

Before I can start on all these new books, I’ve still got Richard Preston’s The Hot Zone to finish.

Leave a Reply

