Aging: The Fictional Way

Today, I officially turn the big two-three, which makes me the same age as young Jamie Fraser. Yes, so fully does literature consume my world that my life is set in synchrony to the lives of my favorite fictional characters.

Years ago, I couldn’t wait to turn sixteen because then I would be the same age as Kit Tyler of The Witch of Blackbird Pond. Of course there were other Young Adult books with sixteen year old heroines flitting through my mind, but I never sought to emanate any of them as much I as I did Kit Tyler. I can’t explain why: Kit Tyler never back-sassed men with the ease of Elizabeth Bennet nor did she resemble the resourceful adventuress Claire Fraser. When I think about it, Kit Tyler was just an ordinary girl trying to live out life one day at a time without stepping on anybody’s toes. I suppose Kit Tyler appealed to me because she was always trying to be good, and in doing so, she became fundamentally good. So for many of my impressionable teen years, I sought to be as good as Kit Tyler, never once realizing how much this book, read as an eleven year old, has influenced the way I lived my life and the way I see myself.

3 thoughts on “Aging: The Fictional Way

  1. Thanks for the Birthday wish! Now I’ll look forward to being 28 (Claire Fraser’s age) in five years…one literary milestone down, one more to go.

  2. This is a view of ageing that had never occurred to me – but now you mention it, it makes perfect sense. Not sure I’m in too much of a hurry to get to 28; maybe I can find a fabulous 24-year-old to make me feel better about my next birthday.

Leave a Reply

