Blogging: The New Journalism?

Recently, a friend who works in the magazine business told me that paper journalism is breathing its last breath. It’s a relic, he says. Writers are getting laid off left and right; the publishing industry is losing its momentum to internet journalism. Why subscribe to a magazine or newspaper when you can get all the information you need at the click of a mouse button? And for free!

Can this be true? Do I want to believe that my romanticized images of fedora-donning reporters, smoky newsrooms, and flashbulb-cracking cameras are fading into extinction? No, there will always be The New York Times; National Geographic will always remain in publication.

Citizen Kane

But I agree that there is a new journalistic medium to be reckoned with: blogs. All the information I need is on the internet and I can obtain what I’m looking for seconds before the latest magazine or newspaper stack hits the newsstands. Fashion blogs contain the most up-to-date trends, celebrity blogs such as TMZ pumps out gossip faster than any paper tabloid can spin into print, and book/writing blogs provide more literary insight than I’ve ever gleaned from Writer’s Digest.

This is not to suggest that I don’t love the gritty feel of a newspaper between my fingers or the sweet, slightly perfumed scent of a newly delivered magazine. I do, however, want to take my hat off and recognize the blogsphere where bloggers-of-all-trade act as writer, editor, graphic designer, publicist, and publisher. There’s nothing amateurish about it.

Would it be blasphemy to hope that one day the Pulitzer would encompass blogging?

3 thoughts on “Blogging: The New Journalism?”

  1. I definitely think certain areas of print publication are nearing the end. For example, newspapers. Things are more internet oriented and for the most part print only exists at its current level as a result of older generations. However, I think printed items such as books and magazines still have quite a bit of life left in them.

    I would love for the Pulitzer to encompass the blogosphere. 🙂

  2. Two things.

    You read writer’s digest?

    AND

    There is something quite certainly amateurish about at least some portion of the blogging world.

Leave a Reply

