Grey Thursday

The weather is foul today, Thursday promises to be just as bleak. Fortunately, this Thursday, I have a free afternoon and plan to spend it cuddled up in bed with a book and a movie.

Jane Austen’s Persuasion awaits my perusal. If you haven’t deduced from my last couple of posts, I’ve been living life in the haze of a daydream with visions of Jamie Fraser and Mr. Darcy dancing through my head. I need something to satiate my romantic mood and look to Miss Austen for salvation. This will be my first reading of Persuasion and I’m looking forward to re-entering the Regency world that I found so delightful in Pride and Prejudice.

I’ve heard good things about Grey Gardens, the 1976 documentary about two women (the aunt and first cousin of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis) as they lived out their lives in a decrepit mansion by the sea. There’s something poignant about two women inhabiting a former world of decadence like ghosts among the rubble that strikes me as unbearably sad yet fascinating. The Bouvier women remind me of the reclusive Miss Havisham in Great Expectations; this film promises to be an intriguing character study. I’m looking forward to see this drama play out.

1 thought on “Grey Thursday”

Leave a Reply

