The Outlander Movie: Fergus, Young Ian, and Lizzie

Not surprisingly, casting Outlander‘s supporting characters is easier than casting the main players. I realize that I’ve still got Dougal MacKenzie, Column MacKenzie, Laoghaire, and Geillis Duncan to consider—all in due time. Today’s theme is ‘Young Outlander.’

I’m not at all particular as to who should play young Fergus. My solution: hire some French child actor. As for the adult Fergus, may I suggest Olivier Martinez. He’s le Frenchman with a trademark smoulder, perfect for the role of the rakish, one-handed pickpocket. Can you see him banishing a hook and still looking sexy?

As for Young Ian, I’ve always had a clear picture of him in my mind but never an actor ready for casting. In the book, he’s described as a lanky, gawky youth with a homely face, but with a certain appeal attributed to his young man’s likability. In my mind, I see him shoving his hands into his pockets while skipping stones into a river, giving a goofy sideways smirk when someone compliments him, and in possession of the characteristic bad posture of someone who is not comfortable with his height. In short, I imagine Young Ian as cute in an awkward sort of way. I see him played by French actor Gaspard Ulliel.

I pictured Brianna’s maid Lizzie as fragile as a glass menagerie. Whereas Brianna is tall, robust, and statuesque, Lizzie is the human equivalent of a rabbit: petite, pale, and vulnerable. She’s a withering daisy suffering from malaria and other personal insecurities. I see her played by English actress Carey Mulligan, who you may remember from Pride and Prejudice (2005) and Bleak House (2005).

16 thoughts on “The Outlander Movie: Fergus, Young Ian, and Lizzie”

  1. the two boys look great but i think Carey is a bit too pretty to be lizzie. i imagined her to be a little unattractive

  2. All good choices.
    Colin Farrell may be a good RogerMac.
    I would love to see Gerard Butler as Jamie.

    I wish someone would hurry and make a mini series.

  3. i take all what i have said in the past back.. i have only just finished reading the series…. Carey is close to what i pictured as lizzie and my god Gaspard Ulliel is the perfect young Ian.. chuck him in some rough cloths and draw a tatto on his face and he would be perfect

  4. sheree:

    Especially since Gaspard Ulliel already has a scar on his cheek. That’s what made me think of him for the part of Young Ian.

  5. Hello, I have a maybe stupid question. I love the books of Jamie and Claire!!! I have watched already everywhere on the Internet whether it then a film gives to the 1-st book. “Outlander”. I have found a few absolutely great cuttings on Youtube, however, I am not sure whether it then really a film gives? I hope you can understand the text, I come from Germany and my English is not so good. Is there then a film? Many thanks for the answer! Greeting Dominique K.

  6. Hey Dominique, ich bin auch aus Deutschland & auch ein total großer Fan von The Outlander!!! Noch gibt es keinen Film, aber wie mann auf DG Page lesen kann, ist schon einer geplant…. schau hier mal rein. >>http://dianagabaldon.com/<>Ladies of Lallybroch<< viel spaß!!

  7. Has Murtagh been casted? I would have liked to have seen Liam Neeson play Jamie Fraser, but if the part has been casted already, perhaps Liam could play Jamie’s mentor?

  8. hm. i must agree with the young lady from spain on fergus. pandora, orlando is exactly who i see for fergus. as smoldery as olivier is, i always saw fergus as having more clear-cut features, esp. based on the description of him on trial in “drums”. NAILED it with young ian, and i liked the choice for lizzie. i never pictured her as not attractive, just very, very fragile.

  9. I know this is an old post but hopefully someone is still watching this. I recently saw Merlin the BBC version. When I seen the actor playing Merlin he screamed Young Ian. His name is Colin Morgan and I would love some feedback on what you think about this. He is lanking and sooo adorable. He is the perfect Youn Ian.

  10. I know this is an old post but hopefully someone is still watching this. I recently saw Merlin the BBC version. When I seen the actor playing Merlin he screamed Young Ian. His name is Colin Morgan and I would love some feedback on what you think about this. He is lanking and sooo adorable. He is the perfect Young Ian.

Leave a Reply

