Twilight

Happy New Year! On this New Year day, I’m elated, but for a completely bookish reason. This weekend, I began reading Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I decided to pick up this popular YA series just to see what all the hype is about. Reaction: I’m crazy about it! I can’t seem to tear my eyes away from the pages; I even woke up earlier than usual just so I can read it. I think about it when I’m away from it, I carry it around when I go out. It’s affecting my regular sleeping habits.

In November, I was going through a reading slump and abandoning books left and right. I couldn’t get into the stories, I disliked all the characters, I smelled pretention in all the writing. Those were bleak times best not mentioned…

Twilight broke the reading dry spell.

At first, I was apprehensive about reading Twilight; I’m no longer seventeen, so how am I going to relate to the seventeen year old Bella Swan and her high school problems? Fortunately, I quickly discovered that I have no trouble in relating to a seventeen year old, which, for reasons good or bad, signifies that I learned nothing about life during college and nothing about the real world during work… Oh well, blessed is the young at heart. Maturity be damned—I’m counting the pages till Edward Cullen is finally going to ask Bella to be his girlfiend! I’m practically blushing for her!

I’m currently in the middle of Twilight, so I will return with a full-length review. I usually don’t write about a book until I’ve finished it, but in this case, I can’t contain my joy!

In other news, I’m going to be a bridesmaid in three weeks. Yesterday, I got fitted for my bridesmaid dress: it’s a floor-length, baby pink, chiffon evening gown. It’s princess beautiful! Tomorrow, I’m going shopping for shoes and accessories!

As you can tell, I’m excited. Next entry, I’ll go easy on the exclamations marks.

2 thoughts on “Twilight

  1. I was surprised at how much I loved this one as well! Being a bridesmaid sounds like fun…I’m not quite old enough for my friends to be getting married yet, though. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

