Boy Crazy: A ’90’s Scrapbook

For some unexplainable reason, I was struck with a sudden wave of nostalgia for the decade of my girlhood—the ’90’s. So I’m counting down my top 10 crushes of the ’90’s.

10. Devon Sawa
You Know Him From: Casper the Friendly Ghost (1995), Now and Then (1995).
Memorable Roles: Casper, Scott Wormer.
Appeal: Remember when he descended the staircase as Casper’s human form to dance with Christina Ricci?

9. Omri Katz
You Know Him From: Eerie Indiana (1991).
Memorable Roles: Marshall Teller.
Appeal: He solved mysteries on his bicycle.

8. Dimitri
You Know Him From: Anastasia (1997).
Memorable Roles: Russian con-man Dimitri (I’m allowed one cartoon character).
Appeal: In my opinion, Dimitri is the hottest and most fashionably dressed cartoon character ever. He has John Cusack’s voice and Leonardo DiCaprio’s hair.

7. Edward Furlong
You Know Him From: Terminator 2 (1991).
Memorable Roles: John Connor.
Appeal: There was a time when I would watch T2 over and over again just because of John Connor. I found his juvenille delinquency very appealing—the dirt bike, the cussing, tricking the ATM out of $300 with a fake pin… Nowadays, Edward Furlong is not so appealing; last I heard, he was arrested for freeing lobsters from a grocery store.

6. Leonardo DiCaprio
You Know Him From: Romeo and Juliet (1996), Titanic (1997).
Memorable Roles: Romeo, Jack Dawson.
Appeal: He was just so pretty. That hair! I still have his Titanic poster on the back of my door (it’s been a long time since I redecorated).

5. Jonathan Taylor Thomas
You Know Him From: Home Improvement, The Lion King (1994), Tom and Huck (1995).
Memorable Roles: Randy Taylor, voice of young Simba, Tom Sawyer.
Appeal: It’s J.T.T.! I had all his posters. I hearted him on my Trapper Keeper.

4. Joseph Gordon-Levitt
You Know Him From: 3rd Rock From the Sun
Memorable Roles: Tommy Solomon.
Appeal: I thought he got better looking ever since he cut his long hair.

3. Mike Vitar
You Know Him From: The Sandlot (1993).
Memorable Roles: Benjamin Franklin Rodriguez
Appeal: He was the only one who could outrun that killer dog! That baseball cap, those Converses…

2. David Lopez
You Know Him From: Ghostwriter
Memorable Roles: Alex Fernandez.
Appeal: He solved mysteries while working at his family’s bodega. Oh, if only I were old enough in the ’90’s to audition for Tina Nguyen!

1. Mark-Paul Gosselaar
You Know Him From: Saved by the Bell
Memorable Roles: Zack Morris.
Appeal: It’s Zack! He is a bleached-blonde high school god!

15 thoughts on “Boy Crazy: A ’90’s Scrapbook”

  1. lol…this reminds me of my own ’90’s girlhood crushes. most of the ones on your list were mine as well. and i never thought i’d meet another dimitri crusher…now i don’t feel so weird anymore.

  2. Hi! Wow, I’m really glad that I stumbled onto this blog, because it’s really quite interesting.

    Leonardo DiCaprio was amazing in both Titanic and Romeo and Juliet. (Titanic is just one of those movies that you can’t help but watch over and over again, while Romeo and Juliet used the original Shakespearian script with modern settings–pure genius). As for the others, I don’t think I know much about them…

    Another Twilight/New Moon/Eclipse fan hmm? LOL, I jumped on the bandwagon shortly after the release of New Moon, so it wasn’t too bad, but there was still a bit of a wait for Eclipse, and now the movie.

    But more prominantly? THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND. Wow. I recall reading that book ages ago in perhaps grade 5 (give or take a grade). And a few months ago I was actually thinking about the book again, and realized that I could probably do with a re-read, as how I would probably understand a lot more of the historical aspect now than I did then. (Yes, quite bizarre that I picked up that book as fun reading in elementary school–quite difficult to find others who’ve also read it. 🙂 And yeah, there isn’t a lot of information about it on the internet. Best of luck on your project.

    ~Issy

  3. I have to second m.majeed on the Dmitri thing! My family thought I was crazy. 🙂

    J.T.T. was my first crush, I think I was in second grade. It all had to do with Tom Sawyer! I also love the Sandlot kid, but then at the end, they show him grown up and he has that super-creepy moustache…oh the nineties!

  4. Eva–

    I agree with you; what’s with the Sandlot kid’s creepy handlebar moustache at the end of the movie. Ruined my image!

  5. Yeah, the moustache ruined it for me too. Btw, I also love your Witch of Blackbird Pond project, it’s one of my all-time favorite YA books. Hoping you’ll continue with it soon 🙂

  6. JTT!!!! I completely agree. And he’s still after our hearts but going to college instead of working on his acting career.

  7. Omg! I’m watching the Sarah Conner Chronicles right now almost entirely out of nostaligic crush for the movie character of Jonathan.

    It’s not the same, though.

    During commercials I started rooting around for screen shots of the old Jonathan to remember what I thought was cute about him back in the day…

    Now I remember!

    Also, yes on some of your other ones! Even Dimitri.

    I remember watching the Casper movie in 7th grade (I think…) and thinking “this movie is dumb” but when Devon Sawa turned down the corner (I still REMEMBER this scene) I had one of my very first movie star crushes. Him and Leonardo DiCaprio from Romeo and Juliet. …and Jonathan from the Terminator.

    I ::heart:: you

  8. This is probably old news, but I found out last week that Brad Renfro (you know him as Huck in Tom and Huck) died last week. He was found dead in his apartment, cause of death unknown. This is so shocking. Okay, he had drug problems, but he was only 25 and come on, he was Huck!

    I also found out that Brad Renfro, who seemed so much older than J.T.T. on Tom and Huck is actually 2 years younger than J.T.T. He must have been 13 in the movie, but he looked at least 16.

  9. Omri Katz also plays in Hocus Pocus !
    Nostalgia…
    I’m French but I know all those boys, they made me dream…

  10. OMG!!!!!!!!!!

    I totally looooooove dimitri!!!!!! I wish he was a real person:(
    And I know what you mean–devon sawa looked like a god when he came down the stairs in casper. *sigh*
    And i absolutely loved him in wild america..<3 <3!!

  11. demitri is rather cute.although Im a baby.lol.I looove benny “the jet”rodriguez hes gorgeous,with the exception of the end.And Joseph.upcoming robin..in batman…lil boy from angels in the outfield<3<3.ok Im done

Leave a Reply

