Anne of Green Gables

Of the many things I regret in life, one of them is not reading the Anne of Green Gables series when I was a child. Instead, I read Anne of Green Gables when I was 17. It was immedatiely following my AP English Literature exam and I was sick of reading the classics so I bought home a stack of children novels and trashy paperbacks. Although I was still able to reveal in the magic of Anne of Green Gables, a part of me couldn’t help but wonder if I might have enjoyed it more had I been 10.

I was, however, exposed to the Anne of Green Gables mini series when I was 10. In fact, my 5th grade education was composed strictly of in-class movies. I suppose my 5th grade teacher was on some secret hiatus or decided that the mighty VHS would teach us our readin’, ‘rightin’, and ‘rithmetic, because we watched a lot of movies that year. I suppose I must have taught myself how to read—the wonders of public education, eh?

Since I loved the mini series and have only one Anne novel under my belt, I think it’s time I continue with the rest of the series, starting with the second book, Anne of Avonlea.

What’s my favorite part about the Anne of Green Gables story? Why, the Anne and Gilbert romance of course! I still utter a hopeless romantic sigh every time I hear the word “carrots,” which makes ordering a salad difficult.

If it has been a while since you’ve thought about Anne of Green Gables, here’s a video to refresh your memory. So join me in re-living the nostalgia…

4 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables

  1. If you like the Gilbert angle, you’re going to love the next few books. 🙂 I love Gilbert as well!! I read them all when I was little, and I just adored most of them (Rilla of Ingleside, the last one, made me super-sad…set during WWI). I’ve avoided the TV show at all costs, so that I can keep my own images of all my favourite characters!

  2. I am so excited that you are reading more in the Avonlea series! I read them when I was around ten, but had to smuggle them out of my older sister’s bedroom (whom would not share) for some illicit reading.

  3. Gilbert Blythe was my first fictional crush. =)

    I loved these books when I was little, and my grandmother gave me the first three books in the series. Those books are my most cherished still, even though they’re pretty much falling apart, because she received them when she was little (they were printed in the 1920s) and then passed them on to me.

Leave a Reply

