Library Finds: Vol. 6

I’m the kind of person who gets antsy when I don’t have a book to read. It’s an unpleasant feeling that could only be summed up as angst—rootless, disconcerting angst—the angst you read about in existential literature. In order to minimize such an undesirable feeling, I’m constantly on the look-out for new books to read and I’m at my happiest when there is a stack of books awaiting my perusal. I also make frequent trips to the library. On average, I go once a week, sometimes I’ve been known to go twice a week but only when the books in my possession are so good that I’ve finished all of them before the week is out or my current selection is leaving much to be desired. My frequent library trips is something I’m embarrassed to admit since I see no one in their early 20’s at the library anymore. I see teenagers doing their math homework, children browsing picture books, and older ladies. No college age or post-college age book lovers. Sometimes I feel alone in my reading hobby and my friends are always trying to cure me of my “bookworm” habits. I should be living out my youth in a nightclub, not with my nose buried in some book.

My response: I like what I like. I am what I am. And quite frankly, I’m having too much fun being a lit nerd to change my stripes now.

With that said, here is what I got at the library. As you can see, I’m still in a YA state of mind, but I’m finally going to read Water for Elephants just to see what the buzz is about. I hope it lives up to its New York Times bestselling status…

Books

1. Pirates! by Celia Rees

2. Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson

3. Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell

4. A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly

5. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Movies

1. Persuasion (1995)

2 thoughts on “Library Finds: Vol. 6

  1. I’m fairly certain I read Witch Child, by Celia Rees (or another of her books) and I remember enjoying it; I hope you do.

    Persuasion is a book I really ought to read. Alas, being a uni student, it is now even more of a luxury – and rarity – than ever to read by choice.

    x
    Just a girl

  2. Just a girl:
    I’ve read Witch Child and it is amazing! I’m currently reading Pirates! and the outlook is good since I’m getting up earlier so I could have more free time to finish it.
    Reading is a luxury when you’re a uni student. I someone made time; I read during breakfast and in between studying. Of course, there were days when my eyes were so tired that they felt like they were falling out of my head, but it’s a small sacrifice to make for a good story. I’d say reading for fun kept me sane.

Leave a Reply

