Sleepless Night

Is this ironic or what? My post yesterday of things that freak me out ended up freaking me out even more and, to make a long story short, I couldn’t sleep at all last night! Not a wink. Around 1 am-ish, I got thirsty but I kept thinking about that scene in The Others where Nicole Kidman stumbles upon the big book of Victorian corpse pictures and I was too chicken to get up and get a glass of water.

Oh, and did I mention I also thought about clowns and finding a big book of clowns in different clown apparel: high fashion clowns, J. Crew clowns, little French clowns, Victoria Secret clowns, clowns for Target. It’s Clown Vogue! I watched America’s Next Top Model last night, hence this beyond freaky image. And no, it’s not funny…

So I just hid under my blanket: parched and spineless.

On the bright side, I was productive during my 8 hours of terror and composed a book review in my head, thought about high school and prom (product of my recent YA readings), and squeezed in a little mental creative writing on the side. I should have just gotten up and written everything down, but that would involve emerging from my blanket and venturing into the dark. Not likely! Now, I’m way too exhausted to transcribe my book review into comprehensible words so expect that in a few days.

For now, my goal is to get a peaceful night’s sleep. The only remedy I can think of to counter disturbing images is to think happy thoughts…

Maybe it’s more effective if I recite it like a mantra.

Think happy thoughts

Think happy thoughts

Think happy thoughts

Think happy thoughts

 

I feel better now.

Apparently, my happy thoughts involve men flashing blue steel. Why am I not surprised?

Pictures from top to bottom: Gaspard Ulliel, Mark Paul Gosselaar, Gerard Butler, and Colin Firth.

4 thoughts on “Sleepless Night

  1. Can there be anything but happy thoughts if it involves Colin Firth? I would say that no, there cannot.

    I really need to watch Pride & Prejudice soon, it’s been too long.

  2. Love, Eva, mems:
    I’m glad y’all share in my happy thoughts! And just so you know, since I last posted these “happy thoughts,” I have been sleeping very well!

    I am also biting the bullet and reading “A Certain Slant of Light.”
    You’re right Eva, it’s not as creepy as I initially thought. I like it so far, but I see you’re quibbles with it. I’m mentally taking note of my quibbles with it, so when I review it, let me know if your quibbles coincide with mine.

Leave a Reply

