Let’s Celebrate!

Somewhere during the middle of the night, The Lit Connection hit the 100,000 visitor mark! This has far and away exceeded my expectations. Excuse me while I do a happy dance.

In celebration of this personal blogging milestone, I’d like to provide you with a few facts about The Lit Connection.

I’ll call this segment “Behind the Literature”—an insider’s look behind the turbulent journey of The Lit Connection. On the surface, it was all Twilight this and Witch of Blackbird Pond that, but behind the seemingly carefree posts, there were painful instances of blogger’s block, computer malfunctions, “nothing to read” weeks, and a long, painful trip down the road of library delinquency.

  • The Lit Connection was launched on August 24, 2007. I had all of 7 visitors and I suspect most of the hits were made by myself, checking to see if I appeared on Google Search.
  • I came up with the name The Lit Connection during a tedious Microbiology lecture. I played around with many different titles, some of which were so unbelievably lame that I won’t burden you with the gruesome details.
  • The super sexy blogger at Software Battle! designed my header. He is also responsible for putting the whole “why not blog about your reading because all you do is talk about books” in my head, therefore leading to the creation of The Lit Connection.
  • T.Y. are my initials. I opted for partial anonymity, but just in case some of you were curious about my real name, I’ll give you a hint. I was named after a Catholic saint, though I’m not Catholic or a saint.
  • Shocking news: I was never an English major in college. I was a biology major. *Cue dramatic music.* I was afraid that majoring in English would kill my love of literature and besides, what’s the fun of writing esoteric essays that nobody wants to read when you could read YA novels and blog about hunky fictional characters? I don’t think an essay entitled “I Heart Nat Eaton, Mr. Darcy, Jamie Fraser, and Edward Cullen” would have gone over well in the UCLA (my alma mater) literature department.
  • My favorite post is The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. This is, in my opinion, my most personal post and the one that says the most about who I am, how I think, and what I want to be. Of course, it’s all written in a subtle, read-between-the-lines context, so you would never know that much about me until now.
  • My most cringe-worthy post is Anna Karenina’s Butt? There’s no way I’m linking it here. There are a couple of posts that I’m not too proud of, but as a rule, I don’t touch them. I leave them up so I can see how much I’ve grown as a blogger. If you want to look it up (which I highly advise you not to), then feel free. You have been warned.
  • There are two posts that I consider my “money posts.” These posts are responsible for skyrocketing hits, links to forums, in short, they’ve pretty much ensured that if I were to say, take a year-long hiatus from blogging, I’ll still have visitors. The winners are “Twilight Movie Trailers” and “The Outlander Movie: Casting Jamie Fraser.” I’m ecstatic to be a part of such a large and dedicated Outlander and Twilight fan base!
  • Since I started blogging, I became a dedicated blog reader. I love reading about my fellow blogger’s book reviews, keeping updated on their personal lives, and I especially love how each blog has its own unique personality. So if you’re on my blogroll, you should know that I’m checking up on you every day. If you’re not on my blogroll, don’t feel left out because I’ve recently started using Google Reader, so I’m probably keeping tabs on you as well. And speaking of which, I really need to update my blogroll. In addition to book blogs, I am also an avid reader of fashion blogs.
  • I’ve been a delinquent library patron three times in a row now. Thankfully, there’s no three strikes law in the library system or I would be banished and then I wouldn’t know what to do. But you should know, none of those three strikes were my fault (systematic error) and I was pardoned.

Okay, I think it’s time to put a halt to the rambling and return to what I like to do best: reading! But before I go, I would just like to thank those of you who visited, bookmarked me, or put me on your blogroll! You made the milestone possible! Let’s all engage in one final happy dance.

9 thoughts on “Let’s Celebrate!”

  1. Like I said in the beginning, I like the way you write. Your Mark Twain post was the first one I read. I’m a big Twain fan, so I have to agree with you, but all your thoughts are interesting, especially coming from such a young’un! When I was your age I was only interested in guitars, girls and pizzas.
    I was a biology major too- back in the dark ages when those Watson and Crick guys discovered DNA.
    100 grand. The kid rules!

    Dr. B

  2. Eric from Software Battle!:
    You’re making me blush! Now, there will be no flirting here; this is the Lit Connection, not the Love Connection. Call me….

  3. drtombibey:
    Thank you so much for the compliment! I try to do my best, writing wise, and I hope to improve with time and practice.
    Biology majors unite!

  4. Great post! Oh, if you ever do write that “I Heart Nat Eaton, Mr. Darcy, Jamie Fraser, and Edward Cullen” essay, I would love a copy!

  5. Love this post! It’s nice knowing a few things about you without reading between the lines. Now how about that essay?

  6. mems:
    Now I see I’ve gotten myself into a little homework assignment. Now it will be my duty to write it. And just now I’m planning the format so….expect it sometime next week, and broken down into serials with “I Heart Nat Eaton” coming first.

  7. Congrats on the milestone TY!!!! Also love your post on the 130 year old ghost named Helen.

Leave a Reply

