Library Finds: Vol. 9

I realize this post is premature as I haven’t actually checked out any of the following items yet. But a quick look at my online library account shows that these items will be waiting for me this weekend. I have such goodies coming in that I can’t resist sharing!

Books

1) Getting the Girl by Markus Zusak

2) Green Angel by Alice Hoffman

3) Your Own Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath by Stephanie Hemphill

4) Austenland by Shannon Hale

5) One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

I’ve seen Janet Evanovich books everywhere, but I’ve never been tempted to read one. I think the cover’s horrible clashing colors turns me off, that and I’ve still got a long ways to go before I get off the literary high horse. But after seeing that half of the book bloggers who participated in Eva’s Reading Meme handpicked Stephanie Plum as the most desirable dinner party guest, well, I thought it was time to check out the buzz. I also read an except on Janet Evanovich’s website: ’twas the wit that reeled me in.

 

Movies/TV

1) Emma (1997)

I’m forever missing The Complete Jane Austen broadcast on PBS, so I’m catching them on DVD instead. I haven’t seen the 1996 Gwenyth Paltrow version either; I’ll start with this one since I like Kate Beckinsale better than Paltrow.

2) Deadwood: Season 3. Discs 3 & 4.

This is one of my favorite TV shows. The library only has one copy so I have to watch it in parts. It could be months before I see Discs 5 and 6.

3) The Big Sleep

One thought on “Library Finds: Vol. 9

  1. I just saw The Big Sleep this past Christmas — my sister and I became suddenly crazy about Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart and watched all their movies. It’s excellent. They have le chemistry. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

