Library Finds: Vol. 10

Skim pickings in the ‘library finds’ department this week. Other than my two Stephanie Plum mysteries, I haven’t been actively searching for new titles. Sometimes making a list of what to read takes a significant amount of my free time. My favorite places to browse for books to read are Amazon Listamanias, book blogs, and TeenReads.com.

1) Two for the Dough by Janet Evanovich

2) Three to Get Deadly by Janet Evanovich

As I compose this post, I’ve already finished Two for the Dough and am a quarter of a way through Three to Get Deadly. I’m having a good time laughing my way through Stephanie Plum’s crazy antics. I’m so glad I discovered the Plum series this late in the game because I don’t have to wait for the new ones to come out. There are a total of 14 Plum books, give or take a holiday special. Lucky me.

While at my cousin’s house last night, I made off with When Zachary Beaver Came to Town by Kimberly Willis Holt. It’s about a fat kid who moves to a sleepy Texas town and changes lives. That’s all I know about it; I decided to mooch it because sleepy middle American town books appeal to me. They make me crave apple pie.

The first quarter of 2008 is almost over. Unbelieveable, no? I have read a total of 25 books—small fries to some, a magnanimous feat for me considering what a picky reader I am. If I can do 25 every 3 months, I’ll hit 100 books by the end of 2008!

At the end of April, the LA Times is having their annual Festival of Books at UCLA. Of the four years I was a student there, I’ve only been to the Festival of Books twice (my freshman year and my senior year). What happened in the years in between? Sophomore year: I missed it for the stupidest reason. I was on campus so I had no excuse. I was probably hiding away in my dorm doing some nerdy activity like studying and/or PMSing. I missed it my junior year because I had to go home that weekend to do my laundry.

I might go this year on the condition that at least one of the authors on my author worship lists will make a cameo. Here’s hoping it’s Markus Zusak so I can thoroughly make a fool of myself acting like a groupie in the midst of a rock star (a book star in this case).

3 thoughts on “Library Finds: Vol. 10”

  1. I really enjoy Janet Evanovich as well, she’s hilarious. As it stands I’ve only read Two for the Dough, which I stumbled on by accident, and I have Eleven on Top. I need to fill in some gaps.

    x
    Just a girl

  2. Ha! I love finding authors after they’ve written a ton too. It’s SO satisfying to really get into a series and discover that I don’t have to wait for the next book or the next or the climax to come out because I was so late coming along 🙂

  3. Just a girl:
    You have to start with One for the Money. It’s the first novel and it’s hilarious. Happy reading!

    oakling:
    Yeah, I’m in Plum series heaven right now. All 14 books are readily avaliable so I can read one after another after another. This pretty much ensures I’ll always have something to read for the next month. I hope 14 books could tie me over for a month….

Leave a Reply

