Library Finds: Vol. 15

1. Going Solo by Roald Dahl

2. Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause

3. The Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson

Considering that I’ve still got to plow through last week’s Library Finds—I’m currently reading The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray and I’ve still got to begin Uglies by Scott Westerfeld before its due date—I have a feeling these new books will be sitting on the back burner for quite awhile before I get to them. This makes me wonder? Why do I keep checking out a weekly stack of new library books when I’ve still got a stack left over from last week? I’m a greedy, gluttonous book hoarder, that’s why. I also like to show off new titles on my blog.

Prior to reading this book review on Things Mean A Lot, I wasn’t aware Roald Dahl had written a second memoir besides Boy. I loved Boy so picking up Going Solo is a given. Besides, have I ever been disappointed by anything issuing from Roald Dahl’s pen? No, never!  Going Solo is already a sure thing in my mind. I hope I don’t speak too soon.

Ever since I saw that pristine copy of Blood and Chocolate sitting pretty on my 10th grade English teacher’s bookshelf, I’ve been itching to read it. But other books, high school melodrama, and a sticky finger T.A. who “borrowed” the classroom’s one and only copy before I could get to it, got in my way. Eight years later, I finally get to read this book! Victory is mine!

As for The Countess Below Stairs, I read the back cover blurb about a Russian Princess forced to flee her homeland during the Russian Revolution and disguise herself as an English parlor maid, only to incur the interest of her dashing employer, Count Hottie (not his real name or title). The scandal! Fear of the commies makes it impossible for her to reveal her true identity, but love of her sexy master leaves her with no choice. What’s a dethroned czarina to do?

I love these royalty in disguise romances! Though it should be noted, I found this book in the YA section, so there will be no bodice ripping if that is what you’re thinking. This story reminds me of my all-time favorite non-Disney movie, Anastasia. And isn’t scavenging the ends of the earth in search of stories that reminds me of other stories what I do best? I’ll let my fellow hopeless romantics know if this book is any good. Maybe we can all swoon together…

9 thoughts on “Library Finds: Vol. 15

  1. This hopeless romantic thought “The Countess Below Stairs” was all right despite the fact that nearly everyone was all good and kind except for the obvious baddie. I thought the characters needed more depth, but I liked the story anyway.
    Let me know what you think.

  2. lol @ your Blood and Chocolate story! 🙂 For some reason, I thought that was a recently published book. Guess I’m wrong! Can’t wait to hear what you think of it: I’ve seen mixed reviews.

  3. I love A Countess Below Stairs. It’s my given choice whenever I need a comfort read.

    Around here it’s placed in the regular fiction section at the libraries, and I don’t think it was until this re-print that it got the YA stamp. But you’re right, it’s not a bodice ripper.

    If you like this, I would suggest not reading any of the other books of the same type by this author, because they are all nearly exactly the same and I found that it got a bit boring.

    A Countess Below Stairs is still fantastic, though.

  4. Eva: I still consider Blood and Chocolate to be recently published. Then again, it’s publication was 1999, which tells me that I am still trapped in high school and I can’t believe how fast is the passage of time!

    Love: Countess Below Stairs is a re-print? I thought it was a new release. Wow, I’m glad you love the book enough for it to be a comfort read. I really look forward to diving in now!

  5. Yup, it’s a re-print. I first found it at the local library in 2000, and that copy was probably published sometime in the eighties or early nineties. I forget how many times I borrowed it, but it was a lot. After a while I figured I should just go ahead and buy my own copy, but then it was out of print and the only ones available were ridiculously expensive second-hand copies.

    Thankfully it’s available again now and I have my very own copy in my book shelf. ;D

  6. Ooh, I loved some of Eva Ibbotson’s other books, Which Witch? and the Secret of Platform 13 (probably more tween than teen) and I’m a hopeless romantic, so maybe I’ll check this one out!

    x
    JAG

    Also, since we share a love of literature and Twilight and, well, you’re generally just cool, I’m linking you. =)

  7. I know! I still haven’t realised that I’m in my twenties…every time I order a drink, I somehow expect it to not be legal. hehe

Leave a Reply

