Library Finds: Vol. 16

Since brevity is the soul of wit and I’ve been a tad on the long-winded side in my past few posts, I leave you with this week’s library finds and the reasons that drew me to them.

  1. The Luxe by Ann Godbersen …because of the cover.
  2. The Somnambulist by Jonathan Barnes…because I read an excerpt on Amazon and loved it! I’m dying to find out what happens next. This will be the first book I’ll read.
  3. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger…because there’s this thing called the bestseller bandwagon that I’ve been known to hop on. There’s also a movie coming out and if I see it before I read it, I may never read it, so I’d better get cracking.
  4. Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott…because this year, I’m participating in NaNoWriMo and yes, I realize I should spend what precious time I have between now and November writing instead of reading a book about writing, so I forsee a lot of skimming with this bad boy.
4 thoughts on “Library Finds: Vol. 16”

  1. Ah! No! You must – I repeat, must – read The Time Travler’s Wife, esp. before the movie because I fear it shall ruin it (even though I love Rachel McAdams.) This is one of my favourite books, romantic, thrilling, and very moving.

    Ooh, the Somnambulist. Ha ha, I actually know what that means because I remember looking it up in yr 11 for a Seamus Heaney poem I was studying. šŸ˜‰

    Do enjoy!

    x
    JAG

    PS: Read it. =)

  2. Oh, and if you’re interested in books about writing, I’ve been recommended The Faith of a Writer: Life, Craft, Art by Joce Carol Oates, which I’ve skimmed and looks very promising/inspiring.

    x
    JAG

  3. Hello! I just stumbled on your post and am quite impressed. This English teacher’s summer is set now with your blog and list of books to read.
    I think I found you when I googled Outlander for the 100th time. I started reading the series about 8 years ago and am still moved by them. Do know of any news about when a movie/mini series will be out?
    LJ

Leave a Reply

