The More You Read, The More You Know Meme

I have been tagged by Just a Girl, so without further ado, here goes:

*A book that made you laugh: One for the Money by Janet Evanovich.

*A book that made you cry: Markus Zusak’s collected works (The Book Thief, I am the Messenger, Fighting Ruben Wolfe, and Getting the Girl). I’m serious, I teared up during each and every one of these readings. Crap, now I’m getting all emotional just reflecting back on it.

*A book that scared you: The Shining by Stephen King.

*A book that disgusted you: The Jungle by Upton Sinclair, though this book is a weak contender because nothing much disgusts me these days. Not even the whacked out sex scene in American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis can offend me. My boyfriend, however, was incredibly disturbed by the Jamie Fraser rape scene from Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander. I was cool as a cucumber.

*A book you loved in elementary school: The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl.

*A book you loved in middle/junior high school: The Duchess by Jude Deveraux, The Midnight Club by Christopher Pike.

*A book you loved in high school: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith, The Gormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake.

*A book you loved in college: The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje. I guess I loved it enough to read it twice within a 3 month period. This was way at the beginning of college though. I feel lukewarm about it now.

*A book that challenged your identity: I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak.

*A series that you love: Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer, Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, the Stephanie Plum mysteries by Janet Evanovich, The Great and Terrible Beauty series by Libba Bray. I would say Harry Potter because I was an avid follower, but now I’m just not feeling the love anymore.

*Your favourite horror book: I have read tons of horror books, but none that I can single out as my favorite. So I’m just going to close my eyes and point at a random Stephen King title like Desperation.

*Your favourite science fiction book: The Giver by Lois Lowry.

*Your favourite fantasy book: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (I guess this can be considered fantasy because vampires aren’t real). As you can tell, I’m not a big fantasy reader either.

*Your favourite mystery book: The Stephanie Plum mysteries by Janet Evanovich, though I really read it for the humor and sexual chemistry while I skim over the mystery. I’m not a big mystery reader.

*Your favourite (auto)biography: Boy by Roald Dahl, On Writing by Stephen King.

*Your favourite “coming of age” book: A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly

*Your favourite classic: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

*Your favourite romantic novel: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux.

*My favourite book (non-fiction): Manhunt by James Swanson, In the Heart of the Sea by Nathaniel Philbrick.

*My favourite short story(ies): A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote.

I tag Chartroose, Eva, Bookchronicle, Love and Stephanie!

Incidentally, if you’re wondering why there’s a random picture of Gaspard Ulliel in this post, well, I just think he’s hot, okay? This being a book blog and all, I so rarely get to post hot guy pictures. Sometimes I like giving myself heart palpitations…

3 thoughts on “The More You Read, The More You Know Meme

  1. Yep, that Gaspard guy is definitely hot! I still haven’t seen him in anything yet, though.

    You seem to go for a certain physical type, because he kind of reminds me of Markus Zusak a little bit.

    Jamie’s rape bothered me a lot too. I wanted to kill, kill, kill after that!

    Thanks for the tag! It may take me awhile to do it, but I’ll get it done.

  2. Hey kid, Bibey here. Haven’t checked in a while. I must say for a young’un you are a most voracious reader. I can’t keep up with you.

    My agent has had some talks with a NY House. No promises yet at all, but it would tickle me to no end for you to get to review my book someday. If it happens don’t be too hard on the old man! I would love to make your list as “favorite book by a country doctor.”

    Can you imagine? Country Doc goes to the big city. Gotta hold to the dream I guess.

    Keep on blogging. You are well read far beyond your years.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

