Playing Catch-Up

I really didn’t mean to go on hiatus…again. Somewhere during late May or mid-June (time is really starting to escape me), I had gotten myself back on tract and was updating almost daily. I remember finishing Going Solo by Roald Dahl and composing a post about it in my head, which I never got the chance to write down. Then a series of graduation parties later, it’s July. So what happened during the time in between? Was I in La La Land? And why can’t I remember anything?

So now I’m back—hopefully, I’m coherent—and since I feel really bad about leaving you high and dry, I’m going to turn this into a mega book post!

June was a slow month (obviously, since I can’t remember what happened in the middle) because I only read a total of 6 books. In comparison, I read 13 during May. I think the small number has to do with me attempting more books than I actually finished. June was the month of abandoned books.

Books that made the cut (To be discussed at a later time).

1. The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray

2. Going Solo by Roald Dahl

3. Stardust by Neil Gaiman

4. The Luxe by Anna Godbersen

5. Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

6. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

Books that failed to make the cut and my reasons for abandoning them:

Here, I jotted down some notes on why the novel didn’t work for me.

1. The Somnambulist by Jonathan Barnes “I loved the excerpt I read on Amazon, which was the reason I decided to read this book. But I ended up abandoning it because there seemed to be too many ornate (and unnecessary) vocab words clustered together and I got tired referencing the dictionary. The ten dollar words interrupted the flow of the story to the point where I just didn’t care anymore. Just use the right words, not the most flamboyant ones!

2. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger “I went along with it until I was half-way through and then I lost interest in the love story. I’m not a big fan of switching back and forth between POVs. I’ll just wait for the movie.”

3. Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause “I really wanted to like this book, but the author went overboard on italicizing her heroine’s thoughts, which were distracting. Furthermore, I didn’t care for Vivian; I knew the author was trying to make her into a rebellious, independent teenage werewolf, but she just came off as …bitchy. Her love interest, a human, is referred to as a ‘meatboy,’ which put a slew of non-intended, icky images in my head.”

4. The Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson “I guess I just wasn’t in the mood for a fairy tale at the time of reading. The preface began with a grandiose string of ornate sentences and references to European people and place names that, under different circumstances, I would be glad to Wikipedia, but I just didn’t feel like playing Trivial Pursuit when all I wanted that afternoon was to lose myself in a love story.”

2 thoughts on “Playing Catch-Up”

  1. Oh, give the COUNTESS another chance someday! It’s only the very beginning that starts slow … you will lose yourself in the story soon after.

    🙂

  2. I hated the Time Travelers Wife. I hear the movie is much better (and probably has a happier ending).

    Blood & Chocolate really does get better. I loved Gabriel.

Leave a Reply

