Library Finds

This is the first library finds in a long time.  After two weeks of re-reading, I finally get to read new books!

1. Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr

2. Beastly by Alex Flinn

3. Season of Passage by Christopher Pike

4. Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich

I started on Fearless Fourteen last night.  So far, not as great as some of the other Plums, but not hang-yourself horrible as the Amazon customer reviews claim.  The writing does, however, feel a bit rushed…

Out of 151 Amazon customer reviews, 150 gave Season of Passage 5 stars.   I wouldn’t say I’m influenced by the star rating (okay, who am I kidding, I sort of am), but I have never been unsatisfied with a Christopher Pike.   The review comments falls somewhere in the line of “I read this when I was 14 and have read it 5-6 times since then…”   Multiple readings!  A book that stays with you as you grow!   Sounds like the book for me.

Beastly: a modern high school retelling of Beauty and the Beast from the Beast’s POV.    Has potential.

Story of a Girl: a high school drama about redemption.   Deep.  Sounds promising.

Happy reading!

One thought on “Library Finds

  1. Hello there. Old Doc Bibey here.

    I am posting book character back story on my blog right now. The character up for the post in the morning is a Molly Tenbrooks. She was the heroine in the Mandolin Case.

    Given I am an old Doc, and know nothing about what it is like to be a young woman, I would love your feedback. Tell me if I have portrayed her in a convincing way.

    Hey, her favorite blog is The Lit Connection, so I know I didn’t get it all wrong!

    If you guys don’t like it, I may scratch the character and start over.

    Sorry to advertise on your blog, but I couldn’t find your e-mail.

    Dr. Bibey

Leave a Reply

