Five

I’m back!   Have I really been gone a month?   Hopefully, I won’t pull another disappearing act without at least giving a heads up again.   I double-triple promise to drop a quick line if I take another hiatus.

iCiNG - galadarling.com

Item #1 Let’s get to it.   The excuse.  NaNoWriMo.   Okay, I believe I might have mentioned that I was participating…and I did.  Did I complete it?  50,000 words in one month?  Hells no…  To make myself feel better, I was kicking ass and taking names during the first half of Nov.  In fact, I clocked in at 37,500 words, which, according to my super organized Excel spreadsheet, is around 136 pages, 10 chapters.   And then, I wrote myself into a dead end and realized that maybe I should have um…organized, outlined, and maybe started out with a plot before I took the plunge into no man’s land.   I had a vague vision of the beginning and the end, but what about the middle?  There was no middle!   And I discovered that when you have no middle, you encounter all sorts of pesky technical and creative problems like inadvertantly creating bi-polar characters.

Mid-November: Back to the drawing board.   I took a week off and came up with a really cool plot.  It has a beginning and an end, and the first quarter of the middle.  The middle has holes, but I’ll fill in those holes when I get there.   At least the novel has a shape—a bell shape!   At least one of my minor characters stopped acting like a Bond Villain and started acting like a human being.   Hallelujah!  Hallelujah!

So, to make a long story short, I’ve been so caught up with NaNoWriMo that I could have walked into a wall or sit near an open window and inhale three hours worth of smoke from the burning Southern California foothills and develop a major respiratory problem (this did happen) and not notice.

NaNoWriMo is lagging into December.   I’m totally going to continue and hopefully, make up that wasted 37,000 words.  In case you’re wondering, no, I’m not going to tell you what my novel is about, but, yes, I will tell you that it’s a YA and, since I really know how to manage my time, I made a character collage and yes, you can see it here.

Because I only have a limited collection of pictures, you may notice that some of these pics are taken from my Outlander and WOBP collage.   Despite some of the period costumes, my WIP is not a historical.   And yes yes yes, the main character’s love interest looks exactly like Gaspard Ulliel, which makes writing it double the pleasure.

Item #2:   The Twilight Movie.  I have not seen it yet!   I know!   All the anticipation, all the hullabaloo on this blog, and still no dice.   I’m waiting to see it with my boyfriend, who is not excited in the least about seeing it, but too bad.  He’s going to hold my hand when Edward Cullen comes onto the screen.  Squeal!

Item #3: The Outlander Movie!   This is old news, but I learned from a commenter that  Outlander by Diana Gabaldon will be a movie.  The rumor was confirmed by Herself and Randall Wallace (Braveheart) is writing or has written the screenplay.   I think I busted a lung when I heard the news.   Cue the hallelujah choir.

Item #4:  Some weeks ago, I read Sweethearts by Sara Zarr.  I mention this now because it is one of the best books I’ve ever read and one of the most romantic YA love stories I’ve ever encountered.   I’m giving you a heads up because I can’t stop thinking about Sweethearts and will probably construct a worship alter to it on my blog.   Read it.  Read it now!

Item #5:  I am a quarter into Forever Amber by Kathleen Winsor.   For those who have already read it, I left off at the duel between Lord Carlton (Amber’s baby’s daddy) and Captain Morgan (not of the drink).  It’s so freaking exciting!    In the interest of not dropping off the planet, I’m going to try something new and post as I read.

2 thoughts on “Five”

  1. Hey, it’s awesomely cool that you’re writing a novel. I’m too scared to try.

    Go see Twilight so we can discuss…

    Also, who do you think would be a good Jamie in the Outlander movie?

  2. Chartroose:
    Novel writing is a very scary thing to do because at the beginning, you realize you’re not as good as you thought you were. Personally, it’s something that I feel I’ve got to accomplish.

    Jamie Fraser….hmm…I still imagine someone that resembles a young Sean Bean.

    My commenters have mentioned Kevin Mckidd and Simon Wood (remember the red-headed Mr. Bingley in Pride and Prejudice?). I think they work too.
    Gerry Butler is also a good choice, even though he’s too old for a virginal Scotsman.

Leave a Reply

