Daydreams

When I was fifteen (circa 10th grade) I had my future all planned out.  In fact, I spent much of my idle class time doodling in my notebook, daydreaming about what I’m going to be when I grow up.   Here’s the grand master plan.   It’s completely unrealistic but I’ve recently been hit with a tidal wave of nostalgia and I had some free time so I made a collage of Plan A.  I’m currently living plan Z which is nothing like Plan A, but old dreams die hard and I am still determined to transform my life into a ghost of Plan A minus the poaching and the airplane and the couture.  
6556984keira_knightley_-_vogue_magazine__11_1.jpg (JPEG 圖片,460x710 像素) - 已縮放 (92%)

When I was in high school, I wanted to be a writer.  The same goes for elementary school, college, and now.    But in high school, I had this whacky whack version of adulthood and it all starts with my acceptance into NYU.  Why NYU?  Because Felicity  was the popular show back then and who didn’t want to wear her sweaters day in day out?    In NYU, I’ll major in archeology and write on the side.   (I don’t really know if NYU has an archeology program, but let’s ignore the facts because this is my fantasy). 

My Manhattan apartment is the size of a warehouse or barn and affordable.   I don’t recall what I did to pay the rent; this being a daydream, I suppose money grows on trees. 

After X amount of years studying archeology, I’ll fly in an Amelia Earhart plane to do my archeology thing in exotic places.

Though never in my daydreams did I dig.  Come to think of it, I had a lot of free time; archeology was extremely easy.   I high heeled around the savannah in couture and typed my novels in a tent with an old fashion typewriter or jotted down my masterpieces with a fountain pen in rustic moleskin notebooks.  

 When I’m tired, I’ll stomp out of my tent in safari couture, clock my Winchester, and shoot big game—lions, elephants, gazelles, rhinos, hippos—I’ll kill them all and stand over their dead carcasses taking photos for my book jacket.   

In short, I was a female Hemingway.    

My fantasy life looked something like this:

Out of Africa by LitCon

I hadn’t thought about this daydream in years.  Just thought I’d share.  

What about you?  Did you ever have any wildly unrealistic fantasies as a kid or teen?   Care to share?  

5 thoughts on “Daydreams”

  1. These are some very definite dreams.

    I dreamed about being a lot of things when i was a teen, At one time I wanted to be a model. Just because one of my friends showed me an application of Femina Miss India and seriously pestered me for days to enter. Of course i said no, but it gave me a good reason to dream. It didn’t long last though, coz that was not something I truly wanted.

    When I was in college, I didn’t really know what I wanted to do with my life. After my graduation, I saw a board outside a post grad college giving the details of an entrance for applying to post grad in computers. So there. Now i am a software engineer. I don’t hate it, but i don’t love it either.

    Someday, I’ll do what I really love doing. Wait till i figure out what that is. How about a NatGeo photographer?

  2. Violet:
    I wanted to be a model too! I think maybe all girls did. Now I just watch ANTM and wish I were taller.
    I was the same way in college, studying just to get by but not really knowing what to do with my life and the same mindset carried on after graduation. I know what I want to do now, but I still need to figure out what to do in the meantime.

    A NatGeo photographer! I would love to do that, but alas, I take a shakey picture.

  3. What a fantastic fantasy! I wanted to be a writer as well. AND Felicity (god, I LOVED her sweaters!) My daydream was always me as an editor for a huge publishing house in New York, writing my novels on the side living in that huge NYC loft! How very differently my life turned out to be 🙂

  4. I love this post!

    I wanted to be an NGO worker in a developing country. What kind of fantasy is that? But I also fantasized that I’d have a very handsome NGO co-worker, and we’d do all these important, good-for-mankind things together while trekking through the rain forest or desert or wherever we happened to be.

    And I’d also write in my free time.

  5. I love the collage it is beautiful. I used to dream about being an actress although it mainly involved swishing in and out of glamours parties and flyinf between my penthouse in NY and my big white townhouse in London. It’s actually the kind of life I would have hated, I’m so not a party girl 🙂

    Now I’m dreaming of being a writer! I’d still like the NY penthouse though!

Leave a Reply

