This could get ugly

Imagine, if you will, a bookworm’s hell: stuck in bed for five days without a book. Too sick to hit up the bookstore, library, and corner book pimp. No new books to read at home.

I’ve resorted to downloading the audiobook of The Witch of Blackbird Pond because after reading it twelve times, I thought it would be a change to listen to someone else read it.  I’ve been productive, though.  I wiled away the hours writing and catching up on Austen remakes: Sense & Sensibility (excellent) and Persuasion (crap.  See my Twits for scene by scene commentary).

I leave you with a collage.  I read These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer during Christmas.  Why no book talk?  Answer is simple.  I suck.  Here is a collage.  Look at it. Love it.  Love me because I can slap together pretty pictures despite being a lazy bum in the book review department.
These Old Shades
These Old Shades – by LitCon on Polyvore.com

In keeping with the Regency theme, I give you Pride and Prejudice.

Pride and Prejudice
Pride and Prejudice – by LitCon on Polyvore.com

Jumping off on a huge tangent, I give you Dracula—read during Halloween 2008, but regretfully left unfinished.  I got fed up with the never-ending blood transfusion part.  How many times do they have to give Lucy blood before they put two and two together and realize that her anemia is vampire related?!  Somewhere in the distant future, I may feel inclined to pick Dracula up again…in audiobook form because I vant a reader who speaks in my ear with sexy Transylvanian accent.

Dracula
Dracula – by LitCon on Polyvore.com

Here I realize I’ve made too many Polyvore collages.  I foresee a book-to-collage part II in the future.

3 thoughts on “This could get ugly

  1. I always love your collages!!! And I totally want the outfit for Dracula. Those shoes are too much fun, and I’ve been coveting a cape all winter. (But I’m 5’3″ and skinny, so I’m not sure a cape would covet me, hehe.)

  2. I read BS’s Dracula in October of my senior year in HS just before the Gary Oldman lovefest arrived. I loved it when I was done but I remember slogging through some seriously boggy bits.
    Keep going, its a better read when you’re done than when you’re in it.

  3. No books in the house? So sorry for the dilemma, but honestly I am impressed that you are so caught up. I have a sleuth of books unread. Being a bookseller, a week rarely passes when I don’t buy something!

    Hope you feel better soon.

    Cheers, Laurel Ann

Leave a Reply

