7 Books in April

April 2009

1. Graceling—Kristin Cashore

2. Paper Towns—John Green

3. What I Saw and How I Lied—Judy Bundell

4. Danse Macabre—Stephen King

5. The Running Man–Stephen King

6. Rapunzel’s Revenge–Shannon and Dean Hale

7. Wintergirls–Laurie Halse Anderson

7 books in April

Polyvore was acting finicky this morning so that’s why there’s only six books pictured in the collage.  Compared to the 13 books I read in April 2008, seven books is not going to break a world record.

April was a big month: I finished that manuscript that I’ve been tinkering with all the way back in November for NaNoWriMo.  That’s a big step for me because I’ve been beginning and abandoning novels since I was thirteen.  Now I can finally say “I wrote a novel.”  But is it a good novel? Uh…there are a some parts with potential. Granted, the good parts are buried in a big steaming heap of sh–, well, let’s just say I’ve given birth to one ugly baby and it needs a drastic make-over.  I’ve made some unintentionally hilarious mistakes–mistakes that I’ve called out in other books, mistakes that I swore I’ll never make in my own writing, but when the pressure was on, I subconsciously folded.  Once made, these technical screw-ups are forever imprinted on my brain; I will never make the same mistake twice.  Thank God, because the world does not need a book where the heroine’s boyfriend places his hand on her heart as a metaphorical wink wink, “He’s touching her heart, physically and emotionally!”  I think I just vomited in my mouth and made Stephenie Meyer groan at the same time.  As you can see, I’ve got months of muckraking through piles and piles of poop ahead of me. At the very least, I have a keen eye for separating the poop from the gold.  That’s a start. 

Finally, an aside to my aside. I’ve casually mentioned that I’ve been on this Wuthering Heights kick since watching the Masterpiece Theatre remake in Jan.  

After some mad internet browsing, I discovered this 2002 BBC mini, Sparkhouse: a modern day reworking of Wuthering Heights with a female Heathcliff and male Cathy.  All the themes of W.H. (obsessive love, unrequited love, a passion as tempestuous as the Yorkshire moors, yada yada yada) are intact.  

But Sparkhouse has one additional draw for the ladies. This man: Richard Armitage. The sexiest man in Britian.   He might be the other man in the Cathy/Heathcliff  bizarre love triangle, but damn it if he doesn’t steal every scene!  

 

Since Sparkhouse is uber British, you can’t buy it on Amazon USA (regional formatting not avaliable). Fortunately, some saintly fan has uploaded the entire mini on YouTube.  If you are a W.H. fan or a Bronte fan or a period drama buff or an Armitage stalker, do yourself a favor: watch it and thank me later! 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “7 Books in April

  1. Wow! You read some really great books in April! Loved Paper Towns and Wintergirls. Fantastic books. I feel you on the NaNoWriMo front! I managed to write the novel in the month and I started editing it, but never finished :p Now it’s just collecting dust. I skipped it last year, but I think I’m going back to it this year. But congrats on finishing up yours!!!! Doesn’t it feel great to be able to say your wrote a novel? I’m sure it’s fantastic too!

  2. RA is definitely worth watching, in just about anything. And listening to. Just so you know, he’s done a spectacular rendering of Bernard Cornwell’s, Lords of the North, several Robin Hood audiobooks which tie in with the BBC series 1 & 3, and his performance of Georgette Heyer’s ‘Sylvester’ is being released by Naxos in July, I think.

  3. Yes can I add my words to Debs…Watch or listen to RA in just about anything and marvel at his stunning performances.

    Who wouldn’t want to take John Standring ( the chracter he plays in Sparkhouse) home and take the best of care of the sweet man ?

    What a contrast to his current role as Robin Hood’s enemy Guy of Gisborne.
    You need to look more than twice to see it;s the same man.

    And as for Lords of the North. Beg, buy or borrow a copy and give yourself a treat.

    His reading of the Robin Hood audio book The Witchfinders is wonderful too.

  4. I’m another one who thinks that Lords of the North is essential – it’s not the sort of book I would automatically take of the shelf but having heard Richard’s audio book reading of it, I immediately went out and bought the others in the series and am eagerly awaiting the next one. Unfortunately Richard has only recorded the one but, having heard it several times, when reading the other books you can hear his voice in your head.

    Over here in the UK we are, at present, watching him being a very angry super-sexy Guy in Series 3 of Robin Hood. As Amanda says, it is hard to believe it is the same man as in Sparkhouse.

    Also, if you haven’t seen the BBC adaptation of Elizabeth Gaskell’s novel ‘North & South’ (Lancashire Cotton Mills not US Civil War) then beg borrow or steal a copy. Richard’s portrayal of John Thornton is above and beyond any Mr. Darcy you have ever seen.

  5. I just saw your tweet about my blog. I have fixed it so that you don’t have to be logged in to comment! Sorry about that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

