Library Loot & Costume Dramas

Library Loot

1. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen: As I’m typing this, my bookmark is smack in the middle of this book; it’s hard to read when you’re getting swept off your feet every couple of pages. Rapid pulse. Sweaty palms. Shortness of breath. Fluttering heart. Swooning. I CAN’T HANDLE THE ROMANCE!!! S.D’s latest is as good as The Truth About Forever, which I consider her best.

I liked Along for the Ride so much that I paused to make a collage. Collage=devotion.

Along for the Ride

2. The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner: Mems, I got this because of you! If you say Gen ties with Nat Eaton in hotness, I’m already half-in love with Gen already.

Moving on:

I’m dying to see Young Victoria staring Emily Blunt and Rupert Friend. US Release date Nov. 13, 2009. If I had to pick, Victorian England is my favorite time period; it’s creepy, repressed, erotic, a perfect setting for ghotic ghost stories. I think I’ve read more books set in this time period than any other. When I was in high school, I watched a multi-part documentary on Victorian England, another on Victorian exploration, and another on the life of Queen Victoria.

In other words: I’m jumping up and down like a caffeinated monkey excited about this movie!!!

Aren’t the costumes gorgeous?

Dorian Gray.

I’m seriously lusting after Ben Barnes.

Especially when I found this sinister looking picture.

I’m strangely drawn to actors who could pull off the ‘sexy sinister’ face. Note to self: must dedicate an entire post to ‘sexy sinister face’ in the future. I’ve got a few actors in mind, but I’m open to suggestions.

The trailer is amazing!

13 thoughts on “Library Loot & Costume Dramas

  1. Ever since I saw Ben Barnes in Stardust, I was like, “Dang, this guy is pretty hot.”

    Even a bigger plus when you say he can pull off the ‘sexy sinister face’.

    Looking forward to that post!

  2. Ooh, how could I forget to mention? I’m So Glad you picked up The Thief, T.Y! I really hope you enjoy it and let me know what you think. 🙂

  3. I read Dorian Grey straight away after seeing the movie trailer (sadly, the trailer is much sexier than the bok). That Victoria movie looks cool too-Blunt is such a great actress! And I know nothing about young Victoria, so I don’t know how it will all turn out. 😉
    Oh TY, what would I do for eye candy without your blog?!

  4. *Whispers* Mems, are you on twitter? Do you have a blog? We must start a Nat Eaton fan club. I’m starting on The Thief and I like Gen so far. I have a thing for guys with fast hands…

  5. *whispers back* No, I don’t have a blog and neither am I on Twitter, but the fan club sounds like a gorgeous idea. How would it happen though?

  6. Hello, I’ve never responded before but I have been reading your blog for some time now and I quite like it and the way you write! I’m an on and off reading/movie and thinking up stories-nut. So I hope it’s ok if I yabber a bit!

    Anyway, these films look like fun! I heard some stuff about Young Victoria earlier, probably from some news item since a dutch actor played in it which is pretty rare. According to IMDB he plays Ernest(?), he’s called Michiel Huisman! Yes he’s pretty good looking.. He was on some mediocre dutch movies earlier and in this Grey’s Anatomy ripoff (although the serie was based on an original dutch book, though in my opinion they only used it a little for the first season), so I only saw them and was interested in him, but I’m quite curious to his role here. Probably just some scenes in the background! The costumes in Young Victoria look so amazing..! Wish we could somehow, without looking crazy and attention-seeking, walk around in huge dresses sometimes (I guess in modern times you have to be someone on Gossip Girl to wear beautiful dresses!).

    Only saw Ben Barnes in Prince Caspian and Stardust, which was pretty good, but he never reaaaally struck me as irresistable.. Movie looks very cool, have to remember to see both of them!

  7. Yay! I saw “Young Victoria” on a flight back from England in May… and to say that I was excited would be a grossly horrible understatement! I’m completely obsessed with all things British and, as I was actually coming back to the U.S. from the UK, my chance to see this one couldn’t have been more appropriate. I loved it! You’re spot-on in the description of the time period… I love it too. Hope you love the film as much as I did!

    And Along For The Ride was great! Honors for my favorite Dessen still have to go to Just Listen, but this one was really fun. Loved, loved Eli… broody and awesome. My kind of man! 🙂

Leave a Reply

