The Knife of Never Letting Go

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

The first time I attempted to read The Knife of Never Letting Go, I sent it back to the library unread and unloved. I couldn’t get into the first chapter. The talking dog. The dialect. It didn’t fly with me, yo.

But Raych put it on her Wonderful Dare list and commanded me to power through the first 100 pages.

So I did.

Because she told me to.

And I fear her wrath, which I assure you, is considerable.

Now I am 1/5 done with Wonderful Dare and humbled. Raych loved Knife hard enough to make babies with it. I don’t love it that hard, but I fancy it enough to grope its boobies under the bleachers. Honk. Honk.

Pervy imagery aside…

Todd Hewitt, 12 going on 13 and days away from manhood, grew up in a world of Noise. Every man can hear another man’s thoughts; Todd can even hear his dog’s thoughts. There are no secrets, no privacy… until Todd stumbles upon a hole in the Noise, i.e. the Silence. In the thick of all this chaos, there are secrets darker than Satan’s asshole.

To sum up: A boy, his dog, and a girl run for their lives—high octane style—from an indomitable army headed by robo-mayor and a religious zealot with the durability and perseverance of the T-1000. Seriously, what is with swamp bum Aaron? Why won’t he DIE?

Then we come upon the scene that launched a thousand tears. I’m not at liberty to talk about THE SCENE, but I will just say that it shattered my heart into a million little James Frey pieces and I shook my fist into the sky: “Why? Why does the world have to be so cruel?”

Also, there’s that part way in the beginning when the first SHIT pelts their farm and Cillian (Todd’s guardian) gives him the ‘look of no return’ and Ben (Todd’s other guardian) delivers the man hug of ‘we may never meet again.’ I crumpled my Kleenex in my fist and grew a soul.

The Knife of Never Letting Go is the first book in a series. I will not say anymore, only: the cliffhanger had me wringing my hanky into knots as I ask myself: “How the eff is Todd going to get out of this one?!!!”  I suppose I’ll find my answer in the aptly titled sequel, The Ask and the Answer. Clever, Ness. Very Clever.

A

Raych, you have filled my life with wonder!

10 thoughts on “The Knife of Never Letting Go”

  1. I have been wanting to read this just by all the gushing (and not really reading any substantive reviews) and now I found out it has talking dogs?!?! I’m in. (I still didn’t read much more than that – well, all the way thru the groping under the bleachers…)
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  2. This might be the best review I have ever read of #TKONLG >> I had so much fun reading it 🙂 Or maybe I just like the saying “darker than satan’s asshole” maybe…

  3. HA! My inprogress review of Paper Towns ALSO contains various groping metaphors. We are srsly brain twins.

    ALSO, I’m glad you enjoy.

  4. Heya! Mindreading is ubercool.. One of my very first favorite books as a child was about an astronaut going to Venus for research there, they had a small civilisation, a dome-like city. They were not allowed to venture too far into the nature of Venus (the few who did before came back crazy or dead), but this man being super rebellious had always dreamed of going into the woods (because there were no more forests on earth), and so when he did he found some Venus aliens (afroini) who communicate by mindreading and he learns how to do it gradually himself.. This was obviously written before they knew Venus was just a cold little rock with no life on it.. It was still awesome, and I got hooked on futuristic novels (especially the writer of this book, read almost everything of her) and the going-against-the-system anarchistic mentality! This book is by the way called “Torenhoog en Mijlenbreed” (it’s dutch, this roughly translates to “Towering and Miles Wide” by Tonke Dragt. I doubt it’s been translated to english, as it’s more of a kids/teen/ya? book.. Anyway mindreading is cool and sometimes I wish I could do it :D! Book sounds really interesting, I should keep a list of books to read! And my comments earlier were way too long, sorry for that!

  5. I have not read this book…yet. After reading the reviews on this site I am quickly realizing that I have found common ground here. I myself feel quite at home on Fraser’s ridge. maybe someday I will name a cat Adso….

Leave a Reply

