Blogging ennui be gone!

I’m so relieved that I’m not the only one bludgeoned to death with a terminal case of blogging ennui. Jan. and Feb. were a bad month for me and I’ve shamefully neglected tending my online oasis and now, stepping in, I’ve realized that I’ve got a lot of weeding to do.
Last month, real life punched me in the face. In my darker moments, I even considered pulling the plug on my little operation. To blog or not to blog? That is the question…

I’ve trapped myself into thinking that I had to write for an invisible critic and as soon as that happened, blogging stopped being fun.
But when it came down to it, I could never bring myself to ax my baby. I’ve spent too many man hours to give up now. Scrolling through my earlier archives tonight, I was reminded of why I started blogging in the first place: I wanted a place where I could chronicle my reading, meet like-minded people, make friends, and improve my writing. And somewhere along the way, I was lead astray by my stats counter. Now I say: no more! I’m blogging for myself and not for something as superficial as popularity or Technorati rank.
To blog or not to blog? TO BLOG. I’m going back to my grassroots and, in order to remind myself of why I love blogging, I plan to tattoo my mission statement…to my ass.

5 thoughts on “Blogging ennui be gone!

  1. Great post! You’re right that it’s easy to get bogged down in stats and an invisible critic. I think it’s what happened to me too.

  2. Ditto, ditto, ditto!

    I am glad to see I am not the only one, and in good company in feeling so.

    Thank you so much for sharing.

    Both you and Vasilly (and several others) have helped make me feel that my decision to continue blogging, the right one.

  3. To Blog!

    It’s way too easy to get distracted by other stuff that comes along with blogging. I haven’t even been around here for a year and I’ve had to remind myself a couple times that I didn’t start blogging to make a pretty graph out of my blog stats.

    Good luck with grass-roots blogging!

Leave a Reply

