Library Loot

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

If all the other bloggers jumped off a cliff would you jump too? Answer: Point me to the cliff. I’m weak of will and eager to please. I am Polonious to your Claudius. I am Igor to your Victor Frankenstein. What I really want from the intrawebs is a pat on the head…  Fortunately, all I have to do is read this English countryside mystery/cozy to fit in.

Green Darkness by Anya Seton

Because a Twitteratti @SpottieDottie told me to and I’m on a historical fiction reading frenzy. Plus, this book contains reincarnation in Medieval Times!

You Majored in What?: Mapping Your Path from Chaos to Career by Kathleen Brooks

No where in my after-grad life has anyone cared about my extensive knowledge of photosynthesis or glycolysis. And, oh, the pain! Nobody cares if I could isolate a strand of DNA or pipet faster than any mothereffer in the lab. A bachelors in biology without the extra armor of med school or grad school or intention to do something science-y is one defenseless knight in a world of lions. Also, my career counselor gave me a list of things I could do with my biology degree, the majority of which involved NATURE and we all know how I have this fear of birds and I’m not too keen on pollen. And even though I AM a beast doesn’t mean I want to stare down a grizzly bear. So NO on outdoorsy jobs like Forest Ranger, Zookeeper, and Botonist. I’m not too keen on fish either (something about the texture of their scales displeases me) and it wouldn’t be very ladylike to swim with Shamoo and possibly die if Shamoo lands on you (Good Heavens! What would the neighbors think?!). NO on Marine Biologist. I guess that leaves teaching but between you and me, I’d rather face down the grizzly bear.

I hope this book will tell me what to do with my life. If my experience with self-help books serves me right, I’m sure it won’t. So YOU TELL ME!!!

In the Woods by Tana French

You wouldn’t catch me In the Woods. I assume there are actual woods in this book; I don’t mind reading about *shudder* NATURE so long as I don’t have to be IN it. I bet there are scary things IN THE WOODS, things like birds that would claw your eyes out as soon as look at you and hostile forest people.



5 thoughts on “Library Loot

  1. Enjoy In the Woods. French is phenomenal. And fear not, no eyeball-eating birds to be found. Just watch out for what’s on the ground!

  2. I’ll be interested to hear what you learn from the Career book. I’ve got a high school senior heading off to college next year to major in Studio Art. Talk about a useless degree. Ah, but at least he’ll be happy spending his tuition dollars!

  3. Lisa: After a brief skimming, Career books tells me that people don’t do what they majored in. Real life tells me that most Liberal Arts majors will end up in administrative work in good times, possibly laid off in hard times, or in my case, UNDERemployed.

  4. I have to agree with Christina – In the Woods is great and French is wonderful. If you like In the Woods, try the follow up to that one – The Likeness. I’m in the middle of that one now and I LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

