The Ever-Evolving Bookworm, Library Loot, and Flavors of the Week

I’m a slower reader this year and I’ve succeeded in culling the amount of books read in the first half of 2010. This is something worth bragging about. Let me explain. During my first two years of blogging, I was a slave to numbers. The goal: 100 titles/year. In short, I morphed into a speed reading demon who abused her library card carrying privileges. It’s like I was on crack (the nerdiest crack in the world) and my librarian was my corner tamborine man. Finally, my mind atrophied and I realized that there really was a limit to how much you could read before your head exploded. Not that my head exploded but I was in the middle of a conversation with my co-workers and they were all, “Sometimes I could feel the liquid slosh around in my head” and I’m all “Oh yeah. I know how that feels like. Ha. Ha.” *Shifts eyes* Secretly, my brain never sloshes about in my head like a sailboat on tempestuous waves, in fact, my head feels too big for my scrawny neck and I often wonder if others see me as a walking candy apple. Anyway, this year, I’ve started pacing myself and savoring the words on the page. The soundtrack of my reading habits has changed from zany circus hijinks to slow jazz, preferably jazz to make love to…

Onward! My library loot for the week.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle : I’ve read this twice: once in the 6th grade, once when I was 16. And I don’t remember a thing about it.  In order to read the next book in the series, I must reacquaint myself with the first one.

The Stand by Stephen King: According to Amazon, this is Stephen King’s most popular novel to date. Gotta see what all the fuss is about.

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi: The title and cover art drew me in. I like the idea of steampunk but always found the novels disappointing (too much world building, not enough STORY building). Fingers crossed this will not be a disappointing read…

The Flavor of the Week…

This week I’m addicted to The Big Bang Theory. Aside from my Jamie Fraser (i.e. Scotsman) fetish, I’m sure you know about my thing for nerds. This show is a veritable nerd-fest and if I can’t have Jamie, I’ll take Sheldon Cooper who is nothing like Jamie Fraser which goes to show how much my fangirl tastes flip flops toward polar ends of the spectrum.

6 thoughts on “The Ever-Evolving Bookworm, Library Loot, and Flavors of the Week”

  1. OK. Seriously? I’ve experienced the atrophied brain syndrome (ABS for short of course) in the past as well. Not pleasant at all.

    And, although I wouldn’t reckon calling myself a Stephen King fan, I do absolutely gush over The Stand.

    Also, let’s hear it for the nerds! Yayay.

  2. I just finished my first read of The Stand (uncut version, of course). Hmmmm. I’m not sure how I even feel about the book, other than relief that I made it through 1000+ pages, lol. Can’t wait to hear what you think.

  3. I have “The Stand” too but the version I have is one of those cramped little ones, too tough to read. Actually the same version on that Amazon page. Do you find it as irritatingly cramped as I do? But I still mean to get around to reading that…

  4. I love A Wrinkle in Time and the third book, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, but the second book (A Wind in the Door) bores the snot out of me every time I try to read it, which is not often. I just wanted to point that out in case the same is true for you – A Swiftly Tilting Planet is one of my favorite books ever, and I’d hate for someone to miss out on it because the second book made them give up on the whole series.

  5. Big Bang Theory is the best comedy on tv right now.. Seriously, if you haven’t seen the one where Sheldon is in the big ball pit and Leonard has to go in and get him, you have to You Tube it! Bazinga!

Leave a Reply

