This and that

Greetings readers! *Silence. Crickets.* Readers?

2010 is a bad blogging year for me. Then again, there’s been a blogging ennui epidemic going around the web so I don’t feel so alone. I really didn’t intend to leave my blog fallow for this long but between revisions, okay, RE-WRITING my entire novel, and Project Don’t-quit-my-dayjob-but-gotta-find-other-dayjob-that-I-can-stand-so-I-won’t-wake-up-everyday-feeling-like-I’m-about-to-plunge-into-a-nihlistic-abyss, I haven’t been in the blogging mood lately. On an optimistic note, my writing is progressing spectacularly and after oh, 2.5 years, I’ve finally developed my voice. And look! There is a plot and fully developed characters and the query letter is punchy. Let us wave our pom poms and do cartwheels!

I’ve been reading. Not as much as last year or the year before, but I’ve managed to squeeze in some books on the side. Perhaps I’ve got a lot on my mind, perhaps I’m a different person than I was when I first started this blog, perhaps I only have so many good words in me per day and rewriting has sapped away most of them, perhaps all I want to do now is talk about writing technique and craft a nail-biting cliffhanger and fear that this will bore my usual readership, perhaps I’ve grown self-conscious of people I know in real life reading my blog, whatever the reason, the need to blog about what I read has a tendency to dissipate. Hence the lack of posts. The year 2010 shall forever be known as THE BOOK BLOGGING DARK AGES.

But I know this will not go on forever. So many times in the past I’ve resurfaced from a bad blogging slump to a renaissance of random posts (usually with shirtless guys) and a new passion was reborn! This is a roundabout way of saying that I will never quit blogging; as long as there are cool books and shirtless guys to post about I’ll be there! You just gotta let me yammer on about why I’m not blogging in order to feel comfortable again.

In other news, I received The Exile by Diana Gabaldon as a birthday gift and I have eyed Jamie Fraser’s naked backside, um, more than once. I approve! Granted, this isn’t the Jamie in my imagination (Young Sean Bean with red hair) and Claire ‘Booby’ Beauchamp is definitely not how I pictured her and Murtaugh/Dougal/Kenneth were all so similar that I had trouble telling them apart. But that’s my only beef. Was it as inspirational as Outlander the novel? No. Did it have pages upon pages of pretty pretty pictures. Did it have sexy times? Yes. Did I wish it had more sexy times? Yes. Oh but then it would be a graphic novel of naked Jamie Frasers…

I’m currently reading Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I heard it was going to be a movie starring Robert Pattison so I better read it before the image of R.Patz starts merging with the main character in my head and the nightmares set in.

Until next time… Happy reading!

7 thoughts on “This and that

  1. I just reviewed The Exile! I thought it was interesting. But the Jamie arse shots were the best! 🙂

    I LOVED Water for Elephants. I can’t say I’m too excited about the movie. I already have a whole cast of character images. Mostly I pictured a lot of the actors, costumes, settings, etc. from the short lived HBO series Carnivale. R.Patz…is NOT who I would have cast! But I hope you enjoy the book!!!!

  2. Goody luck with project ‘find a day job you can stand’ (summarising your obviously much better project title). And good to hear your writing is coming along so well – soon publishers will be throwing themselves at you.

    I think RP is going to get trapped in unfortunate films (just can’t imagine they’re not going to make Water for Elephants all soft focused and overly Tragic).

  3. A toast, to your return to the blogging world and developing a voice. *Cheers!*

    I’ve been meaning to read Water For Elephants. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

  4. A million congrats on finding your voice and accomplishing so much on your novel! That is a huge achievement, I shall look to you for inspiration!
    I look forward to upcoming random posts with shirtless men 😉

Leave a Reply

