Pumpkin Patch & Library Loot

October means I must post the obligatory pumpkin patch picture! Since it’s my first ever foray in a pumpkin patch, I do many bookish pose. Do you recognize the “Alas Poor Yorrick” and “Twilight Hands”? Oh SILLY, thy name is me! This was taken at Tanaka Farms in Orange County and the house shots are from my morning stroll in Old Towne Orange.

Ever read Practical Magic? I did, then stopped and picked up Garden Spells which is like Practical Magic but better. Anyway, the grand Victorian reminded me of the Practical Magic house. When I was a kid, I always fantasized about having an eccentric aunt who suddenly drops dead and wills me her spooky Victorian and black cat. I’d move in and explore, maybe prowl around the nearby graveyard with a flashlight and a wisecracking sidekick. My daydream sounds like all the popular Middle Grade novels of the ’90’s.

Books! This week I looted:

1. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

2. Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

3. Witch by Christopher Pike.

Which one should I start on first?

In other news:

*Blue Moon Magnolia is a pumpkin carving genius! Check out her homage to Jamie Fraser’s naked behind.

*NaNoWriMo approaches! And once again, I will be re-writing, revising, polishing my pacing. In other words, I need to teach myself how to pace a novel. People can’t make out until I’ve established the romantic tension leading up to said making out. It’s interesting to note that 90% of my thoughts revolve around creating the proper atmosphere for sexy times and I’m not even writing a romance novel! Or maybe I am and don’t know it yet… In any event, I found Jennifer Cruise’s The Five Things I Learned About Writing Romance from TV essay extremely helpful to my predicament. Sigh. Sexy Times will be the death of me!  But that doesn’t stop me from cheering on those of you who are crazy enough to write 50K in a month. I do so love the community spirit!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Patch & Library Loot”

  1. 1. I’ve heard of NaNoWriMo but I’m not exactly sure I understand it. I’ll have to go poke around again and see what it’s all about.

    2. OMG, I love the Jamie’s naked behind pumpkin! Positively brilliant!

    3. I read Witch (one of my Pike favs!) and Secret Life of Bees. Very good picks. I just picked up A Reliable Wife and all three of the Mortal Intrument books. Oh and Finnikan on the Rock.

  2. Wendy:
    NaNoWriMo runs the entire month of Nov. The goal is to write a novel in 30 days or at least reach 50,000 words. 50K is the perfect size of a Middle Grade novel, Catcher in the Rye, or The Great Gatsby. That’s approximately 1,600 words/day, keeping in mind that they don’t have to be perfect words, just keep the forward momentum going until you’re finished. Revising and editing is another story! I think it’s fun hearing about other participant’s progress during the month of Nov. Over the years, I learned that writing at such a breakneck pace doesn’t work for me. When I am uninspired and forced to meet a quota, I tend to write complete garbage that I’ll have to throw out later. So I will be editing/re-writing meticulously during Nov.

Leave a Reply

