Dollar Bookstore Loot

1. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. I remember reading this about two years ago and not finishing it for some cloudy reason that usually has to do with “I’m not in the mood. I have Dracula to read.” Or, more specifically: “These characters are too eccentric to be real.” Now I have the urge to pick up where I left off. I’m a big champ of second chances. Once abandoned is never forever forgotten. This also goes to show that 99% of my enjoyable reading experience is based my mood at the time.
2. Here on Earth by Alice Hoffman This book is not perfect, in fact, the middle and end took a kamikaze dive into suck-a-tude. After Alice Hoffman went all Alice Hoffman on her book critic, her appeal diminished for me. However, I do admit to liking parts of Here on Earth: the surreal New England setting is th

e perfect place for a modern retelling of Wuthering Heights. Above all things, I’m a sucker for tortured love and brooding men. Heathcliff! Why can’t I quit you? Here’s my past review. Read it if you dare and remember this: I’m not daring you! It makes my cringe.
3. I Capture the Castle by Doddie Smith This is a mint condition hardcover! The gem of this week’s loot. I read this a few years ago and did not finish either. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I suspect the answer is too many library books at once and not enough concentration. On my more fruitful library expeditions, I’m like a kid in a candy store checking out more books that I could possibly read and reading a bit of everything only to finish nothing. I have issues. Gluttonous book grabbing issues!

Notice that all these books are in mint to quasi-mint conditions. No creased spines! No dogeared pages! Oh ho ho!

4 thoughts on “Dollar Bookstore Loot

  1. I read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil last year and really enjoyed it. It did seem like more of a novel rather than non-fiction mostly because of the eccentricity of the characters, like you mentioned. The last half is much different than the first and it gets kind of weird.

  2. lol! I’m the only one I know who felt a bit meh about Midnight in the Garden. But I LOVE I Capture the Castle!

    Also, I’ve been coveting that Etsy print for ages now, lol

  3. YES!!!!!! I CAPTURE THE CASTLE!!! In my top 3 books of all time. Also, rent the movie sheerly for Henry Cavill as Stephen Colley.

    PS – Book recommendation: “The Little Friend” by Donna Tartt. Awesome 12-yr old girl protagonist. Best of all, it’s like a YA novel for…adults (plot of YA fiction, prose of Adult fiction)!

    PPS – I LOVE YOUand I LOVE YOUR BLOG! It’s one of 4 sites I go to daily, the other three being Facebook, Gmail, and Modcloth =D

  4. Thank you! This comment made my day! I’m enjoying I Capture the Castle. I abandoned it two years ago because I just wasn’t in the mood to be charmed. But now I am… and believe you me, I am quite charmed. I love Cassandra’s voice!

Leave a Reply

